Alphabetical List

The following layout may be useful if you know only the name of a bridge, but not its location.   It is an alphabetical  list of all the Scottish bridges that are old (pre 1750) , original and still largely intact.    They are presented with information, photographs and an ordnance survey reference.   These bridges are marked maroon or red on the catalogue map.     


ABBEY BRIDGE    Haddington  
C.East Lothian     R.Tyne       353294,674546  

History: Ruins of the abbey mill are adjacent. Inglis dates the bridge from 1440 to 1540. The gothic arches suggest 15th century. A priory was founded very nearby, in 1178, by Ada, Countess of Northumberland, mother of Malcolm IV. The priory developed into a Cistercian nunnery with Abbey. The Scots Parliament met at the Abbey, in 1548, to confirm a treaty with France, whereby the young Mary, Queen of Scots would marry the Dauphin. The Siege of Haddington was taking place less than a mile away, at the time, and the abbey and bridge were almost on the front line. This Abbey was clearly a place of importance and very local historical prominence might explain why the bridge is very wide for the date and location (not on a main highway).  
Maps:Roy(1750) Blaeu(1640)
Currently: appears to be 15th century. Three complete gothic drop-centred arches. Red sandstone ashlar and sometimes dressed squared coursed rubble spandrels from many periods. Grey uncoursed random rubble approaches(18thC) Heavy ribbing. Two of the arches have missing ribs but the springstones are still there (see photos). Sixteen ft wide but evidence of widening by about 18inches (see photo): possibly for refacing only. Very slim voussoirs contrast with heavy ribbing.  
Gothic arches suggest an earlier date. This is one of ten remaining gothic bridges in Scotland. Similar in style and substance to the Pencaitland Bridge (also drop centred arches), which is 12km away and credibly attributed to the Sinclairs of Herdmanston. 
Link1  Link2  photo  photo  photo  photo  photo  photo
_______________________________________________

ABBEY BRIDGE    Old Deer  
C.Aberdeen     South Ugie       396635,848139  

History:Close to a 13th C Abbey. Possible link to 9th C. monastery. Macfarlane (1720) describes a 'fine stone bridge' built by the owner of Broxy nearby. 
Maps:1750 1640 1600 Pont 10
Currently:1717
3 unequal semicircular arches. Coursed and sometimes uncoursed squared rubble. Stepped parapets. 
Link 
_______________________________________________

ABBEYTOWN BRIDGE    Airth  
C.Stirlingshire     Pow Burn       289649,686537  

History: Old main road to Falkirk. The 'abbey' was Holyrood to which the bridge and nearby prereformation church belonged. 1629 two bridges at Airth needing repair. Completed with a local tax (Harrison) Panel on bridge 'Founded upon wood and rebuilt by the shire 1726'. There was an important well nearby. ( SA's) 
Maps:1750(Roy) rather poorly and effaced. Mentioned in Macfarlane (1720s) 
Maps: Firmly on 1600(Pont) 1640(Blaeu)
Currently: Single segmental arch humped bridge in uncoursed sometimes squared rubble. Unusual large blocks on parapets and abutments. See photo. Crumbling. Two orders of voussour arches. The lower one might be support added later as also seen in Newmills near Culross. Panel in the centre inside of parapet illegible. Now on a private road with limited access. 
Link  Link2  photo  photo  photo . 
_______________________________________________

ABERFELDY BRIDGE       see TAY BRIDGE         


_______________________________________________

ABERFOYLE BRIDGE    
C.Stirling     R.Forth       252016,700924

History:The most upstream bridge on the River Forth. This bridge is an enigma.It was known as 'Clachan Bridge', and is quite a large structure for such a small rural community which did not gain any prominence until the early 19th century, thanks to Walter Scott. He refers to Rob Roy crossing 'the old fashioned bridge, very high and very narrow'. Firmly on Blaeu (circa 1640), but Blaeu's bridge is quite a distance from Aberfoyle settlement. Repaired in 1761. Macfarlane (1720s) records that it was destroyed by the order of the government (1715 rebellion) and had not been repaired.  
Maps: Roy (1750) Blaeu(1640)
Currently: Looks mid 18th century. Overgrown but quite beautiful. Two raised segmental arches. Humped. Uncoursed squared random rubble spandrels and approaches.Quite crude. No string course. Two arches with central cutwaters which are crumbling. Long wings, partially buttressed. Original parapets, which is rather rare. Rough flat coping stones. Abutments, foundations and piers appear much older, possibly 16th century. One has to wonder if the original arches were semicircular. Skene's sketch (photo4 1829) might suggest this. There is an odd flood arch arrangement which would be more recent.
Link  photo  photo  photo  photo . 
_______________________________________________

ALLT COIRE UCHDRACHAN BRIDGE    Corrieyairack Pass  
C.Inverness     Allt Coire Uchrachan Burn       239266,800299  

History: Hanoverian military. Two bridges side by side. The more modern wooden functional bridge has old random rubble abutments; it is probably original 1730s Wade. The intact segmental arched bridge with whinstone voussoirs and uncoursed random rubble spandrels is probably a younger,1760s structure. Caulfield carried out repairs to the Corrieyairack amounting to £360, which was three quarters of the original 1730s spend on bridges. 
Currently: 18th C. rubble bridges. Voissoirs appear radial. Present wooden lintel on older abutments with remains of parapet and string course. The intact stone bridge has a segmental arch with voussoirs of uneven length. Spandrels in undressed random rubble. 
photo . 
_______________________________________________

ALYTH OLD BRIDGE    
C.Forfar    Queich Burn       324517,748719  

History: Reputedly built circa 1500. Known to be rebuilt 1674. May have been a 'Collection' bridge. Described as originally a packhorse bridge although it is unusual for that to be two span. Still 5ft wide. Heightened in the 19th century and wide parapets added. Flat-decking. 
Maps: 1750 (Roy) 1600(Pont 28)
Currently 17thC. perhaps parts are earlier with much remaining.
2 Stilted segmental arches&#;44 one smaller. Cutwater unusual and may be very ancient. Segmental arch shape surprising. Overhanging parapets are quite unusual.  
Link  photo  photo  photo  photo
_______________________________________________

AMULREE BRIDGE    Sma Glen  
C. Perth     R.Braan       290050,736785  

History:1730s military. Wade Crieff/Dalnacardoch road. Also the junction of four 18th century drove roads, descending through the Sma' Glen to the Tryst at Crieff. 
Maps:1750
Currently: 1730s. Two segmental arches plus one flood arch. Very damaged by age and poorly repaired and restored. Northerly arch voussoirs are concrete and entire uptream side is repaired in concrete. The remaining downstream southerly arch is in squared, sometimes coursed random rubble spandrels and whinstone voussoirs and coping.  
Link1  photo  photo . 
_______________________________________________

ANNACHIE BRIDGE    nr.Rattray  
C.Aberdeen     Black Water       410488,853088  

Maps:1750. Not on Blaeu. Roy's map shows the main road north (equivalent of A90 from Peterhead to Fraserburgh) very much to the east and running close to the coast. Nothing remains of this road. Macfarlane describes this bridge in 1722. Blackwater was a stately home. The burn was the 'Anchie'.  
Currently: A remarkable little isolated bridge which appears to be the original 18th.C. Very roughly squared and coursed rubble spandrels. Parapets gone. Semicircular arch. No evidence of the road. Single semicircular arch with dressed voussoirs. Uncoursed rubble spandrels.
Link1 . 
_______________________________________________

ANNET BURN BRIDGE    Callander 
C.Perth     Annet Burn       270660,703031

History: 1749 military. Caulfield (Stirling/Fort William road) There is also map evidence of an earlier road (1690 Adair).  
Maps:1750. In fact the map is not clear at this spot. Interestingly, Roy's survey was in 1749 when this road was half finished; bridges often came some time after military roads were completed. 
Currently: An 18th century bridge of regular Caulfield design: segmental arch with dressed rubble voussoirs and random rubble uncoursed spandrels. There is no string and the coping is fairly crude. Approaches are splayed. However, curiously, there is one feature which appears 17th century in style: substantial masonry corbeling supports an overhanging decking.  
photo  photo  photo
_______________________________________________

ARKLAND BRIDGE    Scaur Valley nr Thornhill 
C. Dum &Gall     Scaur water        280500,598143  

History:Noted on Roy as Bridge of Scaur and well marked. Recorded as swept away in 1749, so the bridge on Roy must have been a very new replacement. 
Maps:Roy(1750) Possibly on Pont but very faint. Extremely remote.  
Currently: 18th C., two segmental arches with rubble voussoirs. Spandrels in pitch-faced partially squared uncoursed rubble. Cutwater. Splayed parapets with solid squared coping stones. No string course.  

A local farmer pointed out an additional strange little bridge which exists 300m upstream, which is clearly very old and now used by cattle. It is tiny, but well engineered with abutments and revetments. Interestingly, it is, in fact, at a better matched location for the bridge on Roy. See photo 3.
Link1  photo1  photo2  photo3 . 
_______________________________________________

ARDOCH BRIDGE    Braco  
C.Perth     R.Knaik        283791,709911  

History: This tiny bridge is hiding below the NW side of the bridge at Braco. Tradition is that it was built by Michael Ochiltree, Bishop of Dunblane, in 1420. However, in 1742 William Caulfield built the Stirling to Crieff military road. This was his first project. Roy's map (1747) shows the military bridge, but there is also, on close inspection, the faint outline of the older bridge, just adjacent on the NW side. Other maps fail to show this feature until the OS of 1859, which shows it clearly. However, even that is not the bridge we see today. It seems that a late 19th century/ early 20th century skewed bridge has now replaced the 18th century military bridge that was built by Caulfield. So Caulfield's bridge must be the one we see on the second edition OS. The old bridge is still standing next to it. It was ruinous by 1989 and restored by the Society for the Preservation of Rural Scotland. Whether or not it was the bridge of 1420 is difficult to answer. It seems likely that this would have been of wood. However the old bridge is nevertheless very ancient.  
Maps:1750. 
Currently: an early packhorse bridge, in appearance, fully restored. Perhaps 17th century. 
Single semicircular whinstone arch, unevenly abutted on the rocks. 5'9" wide and only 4'6" parapet to parapet. Squared uncoursed rubble spandrels. Very low parapets. No string course. Very narrow, which is the most interesting aspect; certainly not a Caulfield military bridge which would have been 12' wide.  
Link1  photo  photo2  photo
_______________________________________________

OLD AVON BRIDGE    Hamilton  
C. Lanarkshire     R. Avon       273329,654625  

History:Pre-1600. Possibly built by the monks of Lesmahagow. ".. built before the 16th century" (St.Acc 1792). This was the main road south out of Glasgow towards Carlisle. Extensively rebuilt early 18thC. because 2 arches were destroyed. Both Canmore and HS suggest 17th century but existence on Blaeu and Pont is important.  
Maps:Roy(1750)Pont 34 (1600) Blaeu(1640)
Currently:16th C structure with 18th century work. Three large almost semicircular arches, each with 3 enormous ribs sprung higher than the piers. There are two orders of ashlar voussoir. The second almost hidden. Spandrels are well coursed and squared stugged rubble. Appears to be ashlar in some older parts. Parapets are much later. 9ft wide. Cobbled horizontal decking may be a feature of the later rebuild. There is a small flood arch on the south abutment.
photo  photo  photo  photo  photo
_______________________________________________

AVON BRIDGE    Tomintoul  
C.Aberdeen     R.Avon       314963,820145  

History: This Caulfield military bridge is from 1754 but Roy's map shows a predecessor because this section of the Coupar/Fort George road had not yet been built at the time of the survey. One arch of the current bridge was swept away in the 1829 floods. 
Maps:1750
Currently:1754 military. One stilted segmental plus 1 flood arch. Lop sided. Mainly random rubble with wide voussoirs in whinstone. Small cutwaters and buttressing on the downstream. 
Link1  Link2  photo  photo
_______________________________________________

OLD BRIDGE OF AYR    
C.Ayr     R. Ayr        233855,622110  

History:Charter 1236. 
Maps:Roy(1750) Blaeu(1640)
Currently: 1588 
LINK TO FULL SUMMARY . 
_______________________________________________

BALGONIE BRIDGE   nr Glenrothes  
C.Fife     R.Leven       331728,700430  

History: Also called Balfour Bridge. Very close to Balgonie Castle which was in the hands of David Melville, Earl of Leven, in 1710 when the bridge was built. The heraldic panel is indecipherable but could be Melville Arms. Sibbald (History of Fife) attributes the bridge to him. Macfarlane records in 1725.  
Maps:1750. Not on Pont (1640) so this would fit.  
Currently: Appears older than 18th century in style.  
Widened on uptream (photo) 
2 segmental arches. Appears to be in very old weathered ashlar which has lost some of its coursing. Heraldic panel over central cutwater. Ashlar voussoirs, slightly chamfered.  
Link  photo photo . 
_______________________________________________

OLD BANNOCKBURN BRIDGE    nr Stirling  
C.Stirling    Bannock Burn       280763,690444  

2History:1516 according to plaque(1781). Substantially rebuilt in 1710 and then widened in 1781(see photos). Included in the first turnpike to Edinburgh in 1750s. Bypassed to the east in 1813 by magnificent Thomas Telford bridge which also bypassed the town main street (see last photo). Robert Spittal was reputed builder of the early bridge as well as Doune and Tullibody bridges. This is strange. Very different from both Tullibody and Doune which in turn are different from each other. 
Maps: 1600(Pont) 1640(Blaeu) 1750(Roy)
Currently: a 17th century bridge- possibly with older original arch with chamfered voussoirs on the older eastern part and unchamfered on the widening. Single almost semicircular arch . Largely squared and coursed rubble spandrels and dressed voussoirs. Very splayed at south approach. Clearly on Pont's map which is significant. 
Link1  Link2  photo  photo  photo  photo . 
_______________________________________________

OLD BARSKIMMING BRIDGE   nr Mauchline  
C. Ayrshire     R. Ayr       249056,625414

History:Clearly on Blaeu.16, so much older than thought. Only two bridges on the Ayr River are on Blaeu. Original was probably 16th C. Possibly linked to adjacent mill. Comm.of Supply repairs 1755. Plaque (photo 4) suggests extensive rebuild. OSA attributes this to 'Sir Thomas Miller who introduced wagons and carts to the parish'. Macfarlane (1720) records '..one great arch- the highest and largest to be in the kingdome'. Considerable repairs in 19th C. Also very sensitive repairs in 2015 with road closure for some weeks. Not to be confused with New Barskimming bridge (1770), which is strangely at Old Barskimming about 1km away. 
Maps:Roy(1750) Blaeu(1640)
Currently:mainly 18th C. large single recessed segmental arch in pink sandstone ashlar voussoirs. Spandrels and abutments appear to be weathered ashlar in parts. Elsewhere coursed squared rubble. Plumb and batter style on downstream side. Parapets more recent and north approaches very new. 
photo  photo  photo  photo . 
_______________________________________________

BENTPATH BRIDGE    nr Langholm  
C. Dum & Gall     R. Esk       331160,590251  

History: Built in 1734. Provides access to the Westerkirk kirk which was 14th century; the kirk was rebuilt in 1788 and again in 1888. This bridge must have given access to the oldest one. Church records from 1693.  
Maps:Roy(1750)
Currently:Early 18th C. 2 span random uncoursed but faced rubble bridge with stilted segmental arches. One flood arch. Dressed rubble voussoirs. Piers appear to be in weathered ashlar. Large cutwaters. No string course. 
Link  photo . 
_______________________________________________

BERWICK OLD BRIDGE    
C.Berwick     R. Tweed       399595,652721  

History: completed in 1624.
Maps: 1750(Roy) 1640(Blaeu)
Currently: 1624. 
LINK TO FULL SUMMARY . 
_______________________________________________

BISHOPS BRIDGE    near Muthill  
C.Perth    Machany Water       287522,715369  

History: This bridge is on Pont's map only. It lies precisely on the line of the Roman road from Camelon to Perth (Bertha). There are clear traces of this road 800m to the south at 287403 714825, including quarry pits. The road was Flavian (c.80AD) perhaps with an Antonine (c.140AD) over-build. There is no evidence of bridgwork from this period. However, Bishop Ochiltree is reputed to have built a bridge here around 1420. He was Bishop of Dunblane and close to James I. He also built the bridge at Braco. Macfarlane describes it in 1727.
Maps: Pont 21 (1600)
Currently:15th, 18th and 19th centuries. Single semicircular arched random hammer-faced rubble bridge with segmental flood arch. Voussoirs in dressed rubble. The bridge is 18th century with 19th century widening. However, within the soffit of the main arch there are three sandwiched arches. These are 13ft,7ft and 6ft respectively (distorted in the photo). It is possible that the centre one is of the 15th C. Certainly, none of them is an 18th century military bridge since the military road ran a kilometre or more to the west. The arch is semi-circular, this design being preserved through later builds and widening. The bridge was not on Roy's map. Roy describes two crossings of the Machany Water a mile or so on either side: upstream at Steps there is the King's road bridge built by Major Caulfield. Downstream at Ness there is a ford. 
photo  photo  photo

_______________________________________________

BLAIRQUHAN HOUSE BRIDGE   nr Straiton  
C. Ayr     Girvan Water         

History:In 1750 the road ran parallel to the present road but 300m to the north, crossing to Straiton by this bridge. Blairquhan Tower House was 14th C. Castle from 1570. 
Maps:Roy(1750) Blaeu(1640)
Currently: An 18th C. single arch segmental humped bridge with pointed parapets and haunches. Dressed and mainly coursed squared rubble spandrels. Voussoirs in rubble. Small archivolt layer. Interesting corbelling at foundation level.  
photo2  photo2  photo2 . 
_______________________________________________

BOTHWELL BRIDGE    nr Hamilton  
C.Lanarkshire     R. Clyde        271087,657757  

History: Reputed 14th C., written date 1490 (Inglis) Early 17th C.reconstruction of a prereformation bridge. Battle Covenanters 1676. Macfarlane(1720s) notes that the 'bridge belongs to the government but the town gets the toll money.' Widened and restructured again in 1826 and 1871. It appears that a previously 5 arched structure was reduced to 4 arches, the Hamilton arch being removed. Early bridges had an odd number of arches. This one is unusual. Skene describes a less elevated structure prior to 1826, and very much narrower with a central fortified gateway. The bridge carried the A74 trunk road prior to the motorway replacement. 
Maps:Roy(1750)Pont 34 (1600) Blaeu(1640)
Currently: mainly 17th C. Four segmental arches, raised and ribbed. The bridge is humped and narrow. Now has four ribs on the unwidened side. Blocked-in coursed squared finely dressed pink sandstone spandrels and cutwaters. 
Probably too restructured now to be classed as prereformation.  Link1  photo  photo  photo
_______________________________________________

BOW BRIDGE    Elgin  
C.Aberdeen     R.Lossie       320343,863251  

History: Existed on Pont's map. Then a new bridge in 1635 (plaque). Too early for Statute Labour so probably public subscription. Extensively rebuilt again in 1785. Lauder notes that it was one of the few bridges to stand firm through the 1829 floods. The river broke its banks instead. Today, this 18th century bridge is still taking traffic, and probably far too much of it. 
Maps:1750(Roy) 1600(Pont) 
Currently:Looks largely late 18th C, probably from the 1785 restructuring. There is no evidence of widening. Single semicircular arch. Very well dressed rubble spandrels. Widely splayed entrances at both ends. 
Datestone "foundit 1630 finishit 1635" though little of this remains. Possibly some of the lower spandrels. There is an odd 19th century abutted arrangement to one side, to support service pipes encased in aluminium.  
photo  photo  photo  photo . 
_______________________________________________

BRACO BRIDGE                see ARDOCH  


_______________________________________________

BRECHIN BRIDGE    
C.Forfar     South Esk       360441,759263  

History: Charter Reg.Episcopatus Brechinensem: 1218-1222: sale of lands to provide upkeep for the bridge. Reputed to have been wooden. Masonry from the 15th C.- Bishop Crannoch(1426-59). N arch rebuilt in 18th C.along with west side widening. Near the 12th C. cathedral and Culdees community who may have been responsible for earliest bridge.  
Maps:1750 1640 (Blaeu's full map of Scotland) 
Currently:15th C. on the south arch, especially on east side which is slightly Gothic with a beautiful corbeled parapet. 
Two arches(1 seg.1 gothic). Squared rubble-sometimes coursed; sometimes weathered ashlar. Well dressed voussoirs especially on the west side. Clearly a lot of restructuring but some 15th century (or earlier) work remains on the south arch.  
Link1  photo  photo
_______________________________________________

BRIG O DOON    Alloway  
C.Ayr     Doon Water         

History:Possibly circa 1460 (Paterson) but this is unlikely from arch shape and span. First documented 1512. Rebuilt 1593 (probably this masonry). Comm. of Supply repairs 1720. Major repairs and support 1972 and 2011. Famous for skirmish between Cassilis and Bargeny(1601) and last verse Tam o'Shanter-Robert Burns. Also 1947 musical. 
Maps:Roy(1750) Blaeu(1640) Also on Gordon. 
Currently:Large single 72 ft almost semicircular arch. Dressed ashlar voussoirs with unribbed soffitt. Small slim archivolt with the voussoirs reset from this. Spandrels and abutments in weathered yellow sandstone ashlar in lower parts and coursed squared rubble spandrels higher up. Partially faced random rubble at the crown with a small unusually fashioned coping. Now a major tourist attraction and footpath.
Link1  photo  photo  photo  photo
_______________________________________________

BRUNSTANE BRIDGE    nr Portobello  
C.Lothian     Brunstane Burn       331467,672581  

History: This was the estate bridge for the the very ancient Brunstane House which was occupied by the Earl of Abercorn in 1746. The stream marked the boundary of Edinburgh City. This is one of the oldest bridges in Edinburgh. It is also a skew bridge and appears to be shown as such on Roy's map. 
Maps:1750(Roy) and 1640(Blaeu) 
Currently: An 18th century bridge. Single semicircular arch. Skewed. In relative disrepair and very overgrown. 2 orders of voussoirs. East side voussoirs crumbling. The is a 'false-skew'and the stressed voussoirs are typical. Grey uncoursed and squared rubble spandrels. Long grey uncoursed random rubble approaches with buttressing.  
This must be one of the earliest skewed bridges; they were very rare prior to the railways. They were difficult to build, poorly understood and not really considered safe. This very precious bridge is very neglected and appears to be decaying.
photo  photo
_______________________________________________

BUTTER BRIDGE    Rest and Be Thankful.  
C.Argyll     Kinglass Water       223415,709511  

History:1748 military. Caulfield. Dumbarton to Inverary road. This is a classic Caulfield bridge. Due east of the bridge is Beinn Im or Butter Mountain in Gaelic.  
Maps:1750
Currently: Random uncoursed rubble bridge. Single segmental arch. Humped with parapets rising to the crown. Flat rough coping. Wide uneven whinstone voussoirs are radially aligned.
photo  photo  photo photo . 
_______________________________________________

BRIDGE OF CALLY    Blairgowrie 
C.Perth     R.Ardle       313985,751404  

History: certainly existed prior to Caulfield's military road (1749) between Coupar and Fort George. It is present on Roy's map. However, there are overgrown ruined abutments 30m upstream on both sides, next to the hotel and in the garden of the post office, respectively. Taylor had seen these. In 1743 repairs were made to this original bridge. In 1749 the Bridge of Cally was replaced by Caulfield, in the first section of the road. On the same road the bridges weren't finished until 1766 (Bridge of Couttie) and more major military work was done in 1813 on the Bridge of Cally section. OSAs identify both Couttie and Cally. 
Maps:1750
Currently: 18th C. and early 19th C. Large semicircular single arch on stilts. Cramping. Fully flat-decked. Largely coursed squared rubble spandrels and surface. The abutments of the previous bridge are completely overgrown and do not photograph well. 
Photo  Photo . 
_______________________________________________

CANTRAY BRIDGE    
C.Inverness     R.Nairn       280016,848056  

History: Existed in 1641. Datestone. Rebuilt in 1764 by a local landowner. Major repairs in 1850. Closed to traffic in 2011 because of major deformation and outward leaning despite metal cramping in 1958 and 1989. 
Maps:1750
Currently: 18th century.  
One segmental and one semicircular arch. Slightly humped. Cutwaters. Datestone retained. Armorial panel. Voussoirs in well dressed rubble. Spandrels in random roughly dressed rubble. Facing voussoirs more recent than soffits. Steel tie bars and bracing. 
photo  photo photo . 
_______________________________________________

CARDEAN BRIDGE                see DEAN BRIDGE  


_______________________________________________

CARR BRIDGE    Carrbridge  
C.Inverness     R. Dalnain       290636,822927  

History:1717 Funeral bridge called Dalrachny Bridge when built. In 1829 described as having wing walls and "plump and well conditioned body" 
Maps:1750
Currently:1717
Only the single naked semicircular rubble arch remained after the 1829 floods. Voussoirs non-aligned to arch focus. 7ft wide. Remnants of abutments are in undressed random rubble. Often described as a packhorse bridge but is not strictly so. Landmark iconic structure but not as old as portrayed. 
Link1  photo  photo . 
_______________________________________________

CARRON BRIDGE    nr. Denny  
C.Stirling     R.Carron        274116,683501  

History:1695 datestone(see photo). There was at least one bridge over the Carron in the 15th century (Bailey) and both Denny and Carron bridges are on Pont's map. Substantial rebuild in 1690 estimated to cost 1000 merks. Monies raised by legacies and donations (Harrison). In Roy's time the road from the valley crossed at the bridge before descending into Denny on the south bank of the river. This road no longer exists. It was a bigger river without the dam hence the redundant flood arch. Repairs in the 1720s by Comm. of Supply. 
Maps:1750(Roy) 1600(Pont) Blaeu(1640)
Currently: a very old bridge with different stages of repair. Partly late 17th C.
Two stilted segmental arches of different size. Arch barrel seems more recent with 5 orders of tiny dressed voussoirs in brick not stone. This may be 20th C. Spandrels and coping in rough but sometimes squared uncoursed rubble. Two orders of voussoir on the small flood arch. The lower one might be a more recent support structure. Modern buttresses on each side perhaps the same vintage as the arch repairs. Unusually, the bridge deck is steeply inclined. It is about 11 ft. wide. There are huge triangular cutwaters.
Link  photo  photo . 
_______________________________________________

CATHCART OLD BRIDGE   Glasgow  
C.Renfrewshire     Whitecart Water        258532,660136  

History:'Snuff Mill Bridge.' Originally a semicircular arch (see photo- sketch). Rebuilt in 18th C. using the original stone. Coursed squared rubble, possibly ashlar. Certainly well dressed. Segmental arch. Dressed voussoirs. Additional flood arch. 
Closed to traffic in 1924.
Maps:Roy(1750) Pont 33(1600)
Currently:Probably late 18th C.
Link  photo  photo  photo . 
_______________________________________________

CENTURIAN�S BRIDGE    Penicuik House  
C.Midlothian     R.North Esk       321963,658975

History: Also known as Roman bridge. Built 1738 by 2nd Baronet Clerk at Newbiggin House, an early 17th century mansion which he had owned since 1654. John Baxter was the estate mason bridge builder. A new 'Penicuik House' was built on the Newbbiggin footprint in 1761.  
Maps:1750(Roy). The majestic avenue leading from the house to the bridge continues beyond it, on the other bank, and at one point is extremely steep. It then appears to peter out, going nowhere; on Roy, the main approach to Newbiggin was from the Northeast, not from the bridge.  
Currently: A very beautiful early 18th century estate bridge, impressively restored in 2014. Unusually decorative in style , for its time. Almost semicircular humped arched with 4 additional pseudo flood arches in the nature of Georgian follies: too high to be useful as flood arches. Two of these semicircular oculas are fashioned into small chambers. Very well dressed voussoirs, possibly ashlar. Uncoursed squared and dressed rubble spandrels and approaches. Unusual ornamental resetting of the arch within the spandrels. 9-10 ft wide between parapets.  

photo  photo  photo  photo  photo
_______________________________________________

CHARTERSHALL BRIDGE    Stirling  
C.Stirling     Bannock Burn       279232,690233  

History:Reputedly first built in 1696: probably a mill bridge and may have been over the mill lade which is adjacent. The present bridge has a plaque which states "This bridge was rebuilt by the justice of the peace 1747" So clearly statute labour, around the time of Roy's survey. The bridge was bypassed in the 1960's immediately upstream.  
Maps:1750(Roy)
Currently: 18th century single segmental arch with well faced random rubble spandrels and rubble voussoirs. Solid coping to parapets. No string. The abutment revetments are interesting.They appear to be in weathered ashlar and possibly a remnant from an earlier 17th century structure(photo). A few yards to the N is a culvert over the mill lade which still exists.  
photo  photo  photo
_______________________________________________

CHIRNSIDE BRIDGE    nr Duns  
C.Berwick     R.Whiteadder       385184,656229  

History:certainly older than the mill(1827). Appears to be a major traffic junction in 1750 (Roy's map). Macfarlane mentions it it 1720. 
Maps: 1750 
Currently:Many 18th C. characteristics. Two wide flat raised segmental arches with well dressed voussoirs of irregular width. Coursed squared rubble spandrels. Small semicircular flood arch on the eastern end where the buttressed approaches are in random rubble. This section may be an older part. Strong string course with a corbelled deck table. Refuges. The smaller flood arch is semicircular. Two odd things: the very flat horizontal deck might suggest early 19th century rebuild; furthermore the piers are in fine rusticated ashlar (photo).  
Link1 photo  photo . 
_______________________________________________

CLACHAN BRIDGE                see ABERFOYLE  


_______________________________________________

CLARKS BRIDGE   Beith  
C. Renfrewshire     Roebank Burn        235741,655457  

History: According to Crawford and Semple, this bridge was built about 1715. Firmly on Roy, on the original abandoned road out of Beith going N. towards Paisley, approximately 50 yards west of the present crossing. Remnants of the original road can be seen in the undergrowth. Late 19th century OS shows the road in use. 
Maps:Roy(1750)
Currently: Extremely overgrown and dangerous high bridge over a deep chasm. Access at water level almost impossible. Single semicircular arch with dressed rubble voussoirs. Spandrels in coursed squared well dressed and squared rubble on the western facing. This looks like a 19th century widening. Rough undressed random rubble on much of the the east side which may be original. Access to the soffit was not possible, so the widening could not be confirmed. Unusual flood arch arrangement which also appears more 19th century. The bridge is now completely lost and overgrown, yet intact. It is surprisingly wide even for a 19th century reconstruction. There are masonry road blocks across the access which date from WWII.  
photo . 
_______________________________________________

CLEGHORN BRIDGE   nr Lanark  
C. Lanark     R.Mouse Water       290466,645256

History: recorded existing in 1512. Complete rebuild 1666 following a petition to Parliament. Lies on a Roman road crossing. 
Maps:Pont 34 (1600) Blaeu(1640) Roy(1750)
Currently: Downstream may be 17th C with stregthening. More probably early 18th C. Upstream is now a concrete lintel (2004). Single segmental arch. Coursed squared rubble spandrels. Possibly ashlar. Ashlar voussoirs are recessed. String course with parapets in different material. Carrying traffic.
Link  photo  photo
_______________________________________________

CLEPHANTON BRIDGE    Cawdor  
C.Nairn     R.Nairn       282426,850216  

History:1755 military bridge. Major Caulfield. Coupar to Fort George. This road was built while Roy's survey was being conducted but it does appear, from the depiction of the road, that this bridge had been built. Roy describes it as 'Nairn Bridge'.  
Currently: An 18th century bridge. 1 segmental arch + 1 smaller flood arch. Spandrels in squared coursed rubble but radiating out from the voussoirs giving a beautiful pattern. This is most unusual. The voussoirs are of different lengths; as such the arch itself is integral to the spandrels, though the the voussoirs are of better dressed stone at the arris. This may be part of an extensive repair on both faces which does not match the soffits. No string course. Buttressing and cutwaters. 
Link  photo  photo  photo  photo
_______________________________________________

CLYDESHOLM BRIDGE    Lanark  
C. Lanark     R.Clyde       286871,643911  

History:Ford mentioned 1461. HenryVI crossed. 1491 ferry boat by Royal Charter. 
First Bridge 1699 Master of works was Lockart. Tolls imposed.  
Maps:1750(Roy)
Currently:1699
3 large semicircular arches without ribs. 
Random uncoursed rubble spandrels. Slim ashlar voussoirs. Triangular refuges at each pier. More recent parapets in squared coursed rubble.
Link1  Link2  photo  photo . 
_______________________________________________

CORTACHY BRIDGE    Kirriemuir  
C.Forfar     R.South Esk       339557,759775  

History: Not known. May be the home bridge of adjacent 14th century Cortachy Castle which belonged to the Ogilvie Airlie family. 
Maps:1750
Currently: Dated 1759; this may have been a restructuring. 
Single arch. Almost semicircular. Wide red sandstone voussoirs. Squared coursed rubble spandrels and abutments. 13 ft wide. Cramping. Plain without a string course but spandrels from different build. Difficult to see any widening but this would be probable. Fully flat-decked. 
Link1  photo  photo . 
_______________________________________________

CRAIG MILN BRIDGE   Strathavon  
C. Lanarkshire     R. Avon        271209,643212  

History:Present in 1795 (OSAs); built by the parish. 
Bypassed 100m upstream in 1938. 
Maps:Roy(1750)
Currently:This is an 18th century bridge and may well be the one on Roy's map. The very well dressed voussoirs but not recessed. Spandrels in fairly undressed random rubble. No string course. Simple rounded cutwaters. Two raised wide segmental arches. Slightly humped.  
Link . 
_______________________________________________

CRAMOND BRIDGE   Edinburgh  
C. Lothian     R. Almond       317951,675463

History:Built 1488. 2 arches collapsed in 1587. Possibly remained 'down' until 1617 when a complete rebuild except for the remaining western arch of original design. Even the piers and cutwater were refashioned. Further repairs in 1687 by Robert Mylne master mason to the Crown. Also repaired in 1761 1775 and 1854. Featured in Walter Scott; tradition of Royal hand washing attributed to James V but subsequently honoured by George IV. 
Maps:1750(Roy)
Oddly not on Blaeu
Bypassed upstream in 1823 by Rennie's bridge. Currently: A 15th C. old yellow sandstone ashlar and squared coursed rubble bridge with uncoursed random rubble approaches.  
3 gothic arches; the eastern one appears almost segmental.The western arch is the oldest and has 4 huge ribs and an impression of archivolting. In fact two orders of voussoir added to by the first chamfered rib. The two eastern 17th C. arches have larger similar voussoirs. Central arch is the smallest span which is odd. Level deck must be a later feature. Not usual until late 18th C. The bridge is is 13 ft wide from parapet to parapet. Strong string course rises up at crown of the arches. Very well maintained with recent pointing.  

Link1  Link2  photo  photo  photo  photo  photo
_______________________________________________

CRATHIE BURN BRIDGE    
C.Aberdeen     R.Crathie Burn       326024,795276  

Maps:1750
Very clearly on Roy but certainly not linked to the later military road. Probably a remnant of the Old Deeside Road. Currently: Tiny isolated segmental arch which is the central remains of a wider structure. Most of the rest of the bridge has disappeared. The abutment revetment (photo) defines its previous dimensions. Voussoirs only with turf deck. 
photo  photo  photo
_______________________________________________

CROSS WATER BRIDGE New Luce                see NEW LUCE  


_______________________________________________

CRUBENBEG BRIDGE                see ETTERIDGE  


_______________________________________________

CULLEN HOUSE BRIDGE    Cullen  
C.Aberdeen     R.Cullen Burn       350601,866233  

Historyr:Cullen House dates from 1602. The main estate bridge leading as a viaduct into the main drive was built to a design by William Adam in 1744. 
Maps: Features prominently on Roy (1750)
Currently: 18th century. Enormous granite single span bridge in squared very well dressed blocked in rubble spandrels and abutments. Marked well dressed string course in ashlar. Remarkably wide voussoirs, also in rubble: about 3 ft wide. Huge semicircular arch. Parapets are a little more recent. Interlocking coping stones. Elaborate design to buttresses which are more like pilasters. This bridge, like the Adam creation at Aberfeldy, is completely atypical for the period.  
photo  photo  photo  photo
_______________________________________________

CURRIE BRIDGE    
C. Midlothian     Leith Water       318275,667743  

History:NSAs.1845 ' Bridge said to be 500 years old' but not substantiated. Main road to Lanark. First recorded :1666. Battle of Rullion Green: Covenanters. Rebuilt 1896 and widened on the downstream side. 
Maps:1750(Roy) 1640(Blaeu)
Currently: East downstream side is 19th C.with stilted segmental recessed arch in ashlar. Solid archivolt on recessed arch. Squared rubble spandrels now brought to course. More recent parapets with coursing and string course. Cramping.(photos 1 and 2) West upstream side appears original (probably 17th century) but in such good condition that the dressed rubble arch may have been taken down and then restored. Not ashlar like the downstream. No archivolt. No chamfereing which is significant for dating. Random rubble spandrels are pitch faced but not squared and only partially coursed with some residual sagging which has now been strengthened. There is no string course on the upstream side (photos 3 and 4) 
.  
Link1  photo  photo  photo  photo . 
_______________________________________________

DAIRSIE BRIDGE   nr. Cupar  
C.Fife     R.Eden       341581,716096

History: Carries the heraldry of the Bishop of St.Andrews, James Beaton. This would date the bridge to 1530. The Gothic arch might suggest an earlier date. In fact a Lord High Treasurer document confirms that a bridge was there in 1496 and that a sum of money was given to 'ane pur wif at the brig of Dersie as the king raid by'. As is often the case the heraldry may refer to a major restructuring rather than a new build.  
Maps:1750 1600(Gordon 54) 1640 (Blaeu) 
Currently:15th C.
3 arches of diff size and style: One ribbed Gothic arch and two uneven semi-circular ones. Weathered ashlar losing its coursing by serial repairs.  Link1Link2  Link3  photo  photo  photo  photo  photo
_______________________________________________

DALBRACK BRIDGE    Bridge  
C. Forfar     R.North Esk       346924,778302  

History: Not known. Maps:1750
Currently: 18th C. Single semicirc.arch+ 2 unequal flood arches. Heavy string course; so strong it may be a corbelled decking. Random rubble uncoursed but well dressed. There is an 1804 datestone possibly relating to the bridge but in a dry dyke nearby. May be a repair date.  
Link1
_______________________________________________

DALCHULLY BRIDGE    nr Newtonmore  
C. Inverness     R.Mashie       260030,793558  

History: 1730 military. Wade. Dalwhinnie to Fort Augustus road.
Maps:1750
Currently: original, single semicircular humpbacked arch in rubble. Random uncoursed rubble spandrels. Now harled, and harling has deteriorated. 22 ft span. 12ft rise. 9ft. parapet to parapet. Still in use on a very minor private road.  
photo  photo  photo . 
_______________________________________________

DALHOUSIE CASTLE BRIDGE   nr Gorebridge  
C.Midlothian     R. South Esk       332379,663530  

History:Roy's road from Galashiels to Edinburgh crossed here, and into the castle grounds before progressing to Bonnyrigg. It was later bypassed twice, a little to the North. The bridge has been described as late 18th C. in date, but this may need to be reviewed. The adjacent castle has a 13th century history, although the present build is largely 17th century; the bridge style appears compatible with that. Furthermore, its presence on Roy's map is very clear.  
Maps:1750(Roy)
Currently: Single wide segmental arch with chamfered voussoirs. Splayed wings. Coursed squared well dressed rubble spandrels and abutments in pink sandstone. Seven and a half feet between the parapets. This last feature is difficult to reconcile with a late 18th century date. Very well dressed coping which may be later. Unusual wooden structure attached, which is not corbelling and seems to have little utility. The bridge is rather dilapidated and in need of repair, particularly on the east side downstream buttress and adjacent voussoirs. This little bridge is rather an underestimated treasure. 
photo photo photo  photo  photo . 
_______________________________________________

DALNACARDOCH BRIDGE                see GARRY  


_______________________________________________

DALWHINNIE BRIDGE    
C. Inverness     R.Truim       263882,782788  

History: This is a 1730 military bridge. Wade. Dunkeld to Inverness road. 
Maps:1750
Currently: Early 18th C. military. Much more crudely built than later Caulfield bridges. One rubble segmental arch with non-aligned voussoirs plus one flood arch. Springing from rock. Spandrels and abutments in uncoursed random completely undressed rubble. Horizontal decking. 
Link1  photo  photo  photo
_______________________________________________

DEAN BRIDGE    Cardean  
C.Forfar     Dean Water       328656,745836  

History: 17thC.Lies precisely on the Roman Road crossing of the Dean Water. Adjacent Roman fort. OSA for Meigle Parish (1790) reports "Across the Dean is a narrow and badly constructed bridge in the road from Cupar to Kirriemuir" Airlie OSA (1791) : "a very old bridge near the Roman camp that some think Roman." 
Maps:1750
Currently: wonderfully preserved 16th or 17th C.
2 semicirc arches . Wide, well dressed voussoirs. Uncoursed red sandstone random rubble spandrels with multiple repairs. 9 ft wide. Refuges overlying the cutwaters which suggests 16th century. Cobbled decking. Well preserved (or repaired) whinstone coping to parapets. Upstream has very ancient corbelling below the parapets. The bridge had a major restructuring in 1878 in which the N. arch was carefully rebuilt. It is now bypassed 100m downstream.  
Link1  photo  photo  photo  photo  photo
_______________________________________________

BRIDGE OF DEE    Aberdeen  
C.Aberdeen     R.Dee       392891,803555  

History: 1527. Bishop Elphinstone.  
Maps: (Pont 11)
Currenyly:16th C 
LINK TO FULL SUMMARY 

_______________________________________________

OLD BRIDGE OF DEE    Castle Douglas  
C. Dum & Gall     R.Dee        273429,559969  

History: Previously the Granny Ford- a 'Ford House' still exists. Reputed built 1737 but coping stone engraving (photo) reveals "constructed 1720" Incorporated into military road from Carlisle to Portpatrick in 1764 but then bypassed a few years later as the road was rerouted via Tongland. Further bypassed in 1825 (Turnpike) by Threave Bridge (200m upstream) which accounts for the older bridge's good preservation and narrow span. 
Maps:Roy(1750) Appears as Granniford Bridge. Not on Blaeu.  
Currently: Beautifully preserved early 18th C. bridge with 4 semicircular arches equal in size. Twelve foot wide p to p. Substance is random uncoursed rubble but rather well pitch-dressed. Voussoirs are slim rather course rubble. Remarkable parapets on a decking slightly wider than the bridge. No string course as such.  
Link  photo  photo  photo  photo
_______________________________________________

BRIDGE OF DEER    Old Deer  
C.Aberdeen     Ugie Water       397886,847747  

Maps:1750 1640
Currently:1727 datestone. However Macfarlane describes two wooden bridges in the town. 
2 semicircular arches. One flood arch. These spandrels appear to be weathered blocked-in ashlar. Beautifully finished solid bridge. No string course. Well dressed voussoirs. Widened. Despite the semicircular arches this bridge must be must be later than the datestone. 
photo
_______________________________________________

DEN BRIDGE    Letham 
C.Forfar     R.Vinny       353335,748621  


Currently: small two arched random rubble bridge with splayed parapets at ends. Segmental arches gently stilted at the central pier which has a cutwater. One arch is largely a flood arch. Dated 1813. This may be a repair date, although the stilted arch might be early 19th century.  
photo  photo . 
_______________________________________________

DERVORGILLA BRIDGE                see DUMFRIES  


_______________________________________________

OLD DEUCHAR BRIDGE    Selkirk  
C.Selkirkshire     R.Yarrow       336071,627947  

History:possibly late 17th C. built by the Duchess of Buccleuch. Macfarlane presents a 17th century report of a stone bridge next to a gentleman's home over the Water of Yaro at Deuchar. Damaged by flood in 1734 and major repairs or replacement in 1748.  
Maps:1750(Roy)
However on Roy it is marked by "bridge" only.
Presumably down at the time
Currently:Ruined single semicirc arch. 
Link1  Link2 
,navy 
_______________________________________________

DEUGH BRIDGE   Carsphairn  
C. Dum & Gall     Water of Deugh         

History: Deugh bridge is falling down. Another sad case of neglect. It was firmly on Roy's map but nothing is known about its history or provenance. Previous photos showed an undressed random rubble bridge with a single arch.  
Maps:Roy(1750)
Currently:100 m upstream of present bridge which bypasses it. 18th C. single segmental arch in squared rubble. Outer wall of the spandrels has fallen away revealing the inner wall and the infill behind. Overgrown with turf decking. 
photo  photo
_______________________________________________

BRIDGE OF DOCHART    Killin  
C.Perth     R. Dochart.        257143,732500  

History: Built 1760 but clear evidence on Roy and Pont of earlier existence; repairs noted by Comm. of Supply in 1720. Restructured 1831.
Maps:1750(Roy). 1600 (Pont 18).
Currently: Later 18thC.style. Twisting profile through the rocks. Four segmental arches. Three flood arches. Large rubble and whinstone voussoirs of irregular length. Random rubble spandrels and abutments. Flat decking. Natural piers on rock bases.  
Link1  photo  photo
_______________________________________________

DOLLERIE BRIDGE    near Crieff  
C.Perth     Pow Water       290713,720917  

History: Inchaffrey Pow medieval canal. 1690 Act. There are two bridges here, close to each other and on both Roy and Pont. Difficult to determine which of them is on which map. Dollerie bridge looks more probable on Roy. Witches Br. 300m downstream may be earlier. Macfarlane (1725) confirms the bridge at Dollerie, but could be referring to either. Stobie (1793) shows three bridges over the Pow at Dollerie.  
Maps: 1750(Roy)1600(Pont 21)
Currently: Dollerie (photo1)is a 17th C. single semicircular arch. Slightly humped random uncoursed rubble spandrels with brought-to-course squared rubble parapets and some iron cramps. There is clear 18th C widening (photo)

Witches Bridge on photo2 may be the one on Pont's map: a small random uncoursed rubble packhorse bridge, a few feet wide. 
photo  photo  photo2  photo2
_______________________________________________

DOON BRIDGE                see BRIG O DOON  


_______________________________________________

DOUNE BRIDGE                see TEITH  


_______________________________________________

DREEL BRIDGE    Anstruther  
C.Fife     Dreel Burn       356423,703557  

History:1630 (panel). The bridge is adjacent to a 12th century church with a present 16th century structure. Possibly a 'Collection' bridge. Rebuilt 1795 and very modern downstream widening. 
Maps:1750
Currently: late 18th C.  
Single segmental arch. Coursed squared well dressed rubble spandrels and ashlar voussoirs. Concrete lintel widening extension on the downstream side. Width: 6m original with a 3m widening. This is very wide even for 1795.  
photo  photo . 
_______________________________________________

DRUMMIN BRIDGE   Corrieyairack Pass  
C.Inverness     Coachan Riabach       246342,796107  

History: Road built in 1730 by Wade. repaired in the 1760s, probably by Caulfie1d, who spent £350 on repairing and replacing bridges (see Uchdrachan) This appears more like a Caulfield bridge. It was fully repaired in 1986.  
Currently: single segmental rubble arch. Rubble voussoirs. Largely squared and partially coursed rubble spandrels with splayed approach. Turf decking. Gentle sloping humped bridge. 12 ftt wide p to p. Link  photo . 
_______________________________________________

DULSIE BRIDGE    
C. Inverness     R.Findhorn       293194,841445  

History:1755 military bridge. Caulfield. At the time of Roy's survey the military road (Coupar to Fort George) appears to have been completed down to here. This would be a very new bridge. However, in 1726 Macfarlane records a predecessor: Dallassy Bridge with a single arch 60ft above the water. S The bridge was seriously shaken in 1829 floods but survived with some damage to a pier.  
Maps:1750
Currently:Classic granite random rubble Caulfield bridge. Enormous semicircular arch over a gorge with fast running water below. Two to three ft wide rubble voussoirs. These are very large stones. One wonders how they raised them up there. Roughly faced granite random rubble spandrels. No string course. Solid heavy coping. A second small segmental flood arch is elevated. Buttressing on the downstream side. Splayed parapets. Cramping to main arch. 12ft p to p.
photo  photo
_______________________________________________

DUMFRIES BRIDGE    
C. Dum & Gall     R. Nith       296885,576046  

History: 1270
Maps:Roy(1750) Pont 35 (1600) Blaeu(1640)
Currently:Mainly 15th C. style
LINK TO FULL SUMMARY 
_______________________________________________

DUNBLANE BRIDGE    Bridge  
C.Perth     R.Allan       278186,701042  

History:Written date 1409. Handbook of Church of Scotland suggests Bishop Dernoch. 1419. This was also the crossing of the military road built in the 1740s by William Caulfield. This was Caulfield's first road. The bridge was widened in 1849. Further widened with brick and iron girders in 1927.  
Maps: 1750
Currently: Appears 19th century with balustraded parapets and 20th century iron superimposed at the sides. However, underneath there are two joined semicircular arches. The older upstream one (with the pipe) is probably the 18th century military bridge; the downstream side is the 19th century widening.  
Link1  photo photo

_______________________________________________

DUNGLASS OLD BRIDGE    Cockburnspath  
C. Berwick     Dunglass Water        377208,672321  

History:First recorded 1617. Old Great Post Road north
There are five later bridges at around this site. This bridge itself has several repair and reconstruction phases
Maps: 1750(Roy) 1640(Blaeu)
Currently: Very difficult to get access. 17th 18th C. Very large single stilted semicircular barrel arch within a chasm. Random uncoursed rubble approaches and coursing on the spandrels. Cramps to strengthen. Decking is completely camouflaged (photo2). 
Link  photo  photo2  photo3
_______________________________________________

DUNNING BRIDGE    
C.Perth       R. Dunning Burn    301948,714433  

History: Early Stirling Perth Road via Auchterarder.
Maps:1750 1600(Pont 21)
Currently:18th century single segmental arched bridge with random faced rubble spandrels and rubble voussoirs. Horizontal deck. 20th C concrete lintel support for widening. 
photo
_______________________________________________

DUNSHALT BRIDGE    nr. Auchtermuchty  
C. Fife     R. Eden       324968,710167  

Maps: 1640 Blaeu only
Currently:late 18th C seg. arch. Uncoursed random rubble spandrels with simply capped parapets. Clearly not the bridge on Blaeu. 
photo
_______________________________________________

BRIDGE OF DYE    
C.Kincardine     R.Dye       365109,786076  

History: Built in 1680 at same time as Whitestone. Both were mentioned in Macfarlane in 1724.Later incorporated into the military road circa 1760. Caulfield. Fettercairn to Fochabers road. 
Maps:1750
Currently: Magnificent 17th C.bridge with large perfect single semicircular ribbed arch. Four ribs.(Ribs are unusual for this period.) Humped. Triangular refuges at one end only. Renewed parapet but no string course. Almost castellated coping. Coursed very well dressed squared rubble spandrels. Voussoirs in the same masonry with an illusion of two courses. 11 ft wide p to p.  
Link1  Photo. 
_______________________________________________

EARLSTON BRIDGE    
C. Berwick     Leader Water        357061,638230  

History: Close to Dere St. going north. May have been a Roman crossing. The town was expanded in 1736 with the new church. This probably dates the bridge. It appears there was a ford (Craig's Ford) before that. 
Maps:Roy(1750)
Currently: beautiful 18th C structure with 2 wide flat seg. arches and heavy cutwaters. Dressed random rubble spandrels and slim rubble and whinstone voussoirs non-recessed. No string course. Parapets in later material. Course triangular coping. Splayed approaches. 9 ft across p to p. Now a walkway.  
Link1  photo  photo  photo  photo
_______________________________________________

EAST LINTON BRIDGE    
C.East Lothian     R.Tyne       359261,677107  

History: The present masonry appears to be from the time of the 'Rough Wooing', 1547, when the previous stone bridge was destroyed by the English army on retreat. Serial recorded repairs thereafter. 1594 two pence per ox charged for repairs. Widened 1763 (from 9ft to 12 ft) Key element of the Great Post Road North. 
Maps:Roy(1750) Blaeu(1640)
Currently: 16th C. Two huge ribbed segmental arches. 4 ribs each. Large buttresses to the abutments. Chamfered voussoirs and chamfered ribs. Many irregularities due to serial repairs. Refuges at one end only. Large yellow and red squared ashlar and coursed sandstone rubble spandrels tied with cramping (19th century). Marked delamination of the stonework. Splayed approaches. The keystone date is for the widening in 1763. The bridge is now 18ft wide.  
Link1  Link2  photo  photo  photo  photo . 
_______________________________________________

EASTSIDE BRIDGE Kirkintilloch                see LUGGIE BRIDGE  

History: NSA: In 1672, the Earl of Wigton built a bridge of three arches, the old one being ruinous. A toll was imposed. This bridge swept away by floods in 1715. Present bridge may be from this period, but widened in cast-iron from around 1900.
Maps:Roy(1750)Pont 34(1600) Blaeu(1640) 
Currently: An 18th century humped bridge, although it appears to be later 18th century. It is hiding below early 20th century iron superstructure which is 6ft wide on each side. Three segmental arches with small cutwaters. Appears to have coursed rubble spandrels, ashlar voussoirs and a strong string course.  
photo . 
_______________________________________________

BRIDGE OF ETTERIDGE    
C.Inverness     R.Truim       268031,792300  

History:1730 military bridge. Wade. Bypassed by Crubenmore Bridge in 1802 and more recently both older bridges bypassed by William's 1925 bridge on the old A9. Finally, all three bypassed by the most modern A9. 
Maps:1750
Currently: Classic Wade 1730s military bridge in undressed random rubble with 1 semicircular arch which is stilted on one side, plus one flood arch. Crude rubble masonry; flat decking; poorly aligned voussoirs which appear to be whinstone. Iron cramping. 11ft parapet to parapet. A very typical Wade bridge. 
Link2  photo  photo
_______________________________________________

EVAN BRIDGE   Beattock  
C.Dum & Gall     Evan Water         

History: This is a a hidden treasure which is at risk of collapse. It cannot be seen on modern maps. It was built in 1717 by the Commissioners of Supply. Roys map clearly shows that it was constructed for the Moffat Dumfries Road, not for the main road south to Lockerbie.(RCAHMS page) 
It was bypassed by a Telford bridge, built 80m downstream, which is still taking traffic. 
Maps:Roy(1750)
Currently: partial ruin with considerable loss of parapets and upper layers of spandrels. Early 18th C single segmental arch with rubble spandrels and abutments. Voussoirs also in rubble but a little better dressed. Very overgrown and delapidated. 
Link  photo  photo  photo . 
_______________________________________________

BRIDGE OF FETTERESSO   Stonehaven  
C.Aberdeen     Carron Water       85280,785565  

History:Nothing known.
Maps:Pont 11 1600 only. Not on Roy.
Currently: beautiful little two span 18th century. Random rubble in parts, coursed rubble in others. Tiny semicircular arches of 13ft span. Clearly widened from 7ft to present 13 ft(see photo). Splayed approaches. One arch is now silted up with a raised embankment. No string course. Odd, that this bridge is not on Roy. Adjacent ruined church and graveyard suggest it may be a 'collection' bridge repair. 
photo photo  photo
_______________________________________________

FINTRAY BRIDGE                see LOW BRIDGE  


_______________________________________________

FLEET BRIDGE   Gatehouse of Fleet  
C. Du & Gall     R. Fleet        259832,556216  

History:First wooden bridge 1610. This road was the 'Gate'. Gate house built at the river edge. Repairs followed by a toll in 1661 (Chalmers). Washed away in 1721. Rebuilt 1730 by John Frew. Part of Military road 1760s. Widened in 1779. 1811 rebuild. Further widened with concrete walkways in 1965.
Maps:Roy(1750) Blaeu(1600)
Currently:Two almost semicircular arches with central buttress. Sandstone voussoirs. Uncoursed hammer faced rubble spandrels. General layout more like the 1811 rebuild with level deck but with arches probably retained from 18th C. 
Link1  photo
_______________________________________________

FOGO BRIDGE    nr Coldstream  
C.Berwick     R.Blackadder       376977,649203  

History:Dated 1641. Rebuilt 1843. Panels with arms (see link). Old Stat Accnts record this as the only bridge in the parish.  
Maps: 1750(Roy)
Currently: Single segmental arch. Well dressed coursed and squared sandstone rubble spandrels, abutments and approaches on the later build, with rusticated sandstone ashlar voussoirs. Parapets more recent. Strong string course. On the original build the voussoirs are very different squared rubble: evident repairs to the arch; spandrels are faced but not squared or coursed.  
Link  photo  photo  photo
_______________________________________________

UPPER FOYERS BRIDGE    
C.Inverness     R.Foyers       249795,819957  

History: Probable location of a Pont bridge. The river was the Faech/Loin on Pont's map. A very narrow high gorge over the water. Reputed to have been a single log spanning the gap.
Maps:Pont (1600). Not on Roy. 
Currently:Eighteenth century single span semicircular arched rubble bridge with rubble voussoirs. 8 ft wide parapet to parapet. Unfortunate modern concrete coping. Not military. 
Link photo  photo
_______________________________________________

FRASERS BRIDGE Datchat Mhor    
C.Perth     R. Clunie        314779,786467  

History: 1749 military road. Caulfield. Coupar to Fort George. Possibly the first bridge to be built on this road.  
Maps:1750
Currently: Beautiful original granite undressed random uncoursed rubble spandrels with 2 span flat segmental arches and wide whinstone voussoirs. Single cutwater. 12 ft p to p.
photo  photo  photo . 
_______________________________________________

GARRON BRIDGE    Inverary  
C.Argyll     R.GearrAbhain        211401,710086  

Maps:1750
History: Built 1748 by the military under Caulfield. Designed by Robert Morris. Taylor is unclear whether this was strictly part of the military road but it seems indisputable even though the style is anomalous. It seems that John Adam had assumed his father's role as 'master mason' to the Board of Ordnance and that he had had some say in the design, which may explain the decorative style.  
Currently:Very ornamental for the time. Almost semicircular humped bridge with a 40ft span with sloping balustrades meeting on a level ornamental parapet on the crown. Random rubble approaches with some coursing and squared coursed rubble spandrels. Now bypassed.  
Link1 photo  photo  photo  photo  photo  photo
_______________________________________________

GARRY BRIDGE    Dalnacardoch Glen Garry 
C.Perth     R.Garry        272649,770027  

History:1730s military road. Wade. From Crieff. Also known as Dalnacardoch Bridge  
Maps:1750
Currently:1730s 
18th C. One almost semicircular arch of 47 ft. Voussoirs in whinstone. Horizantal deck. Harling coating is falling off. Appears dilapidated. 10ft parapet to parapet. Still in use. 
Link  photo  photo . 
_______________________________________________

GARVAMORE BRIDGE    Corrieyairack Pass  
C.IOnverness     R.Spey       252176,794749  

History:1732 Garbhamor. military bridge. Wade. Dalwhinnie to Fort Augustus road. This was Wade's first multi-arched bridge. The cost of all the Correyairack bridges was £466. Original Kingshouse nearby. Wade celebrated the completion with an oxen feast for 500 men working on the road and bridges. This was the highest bridge on the Spey River. He initially called it St.George's Bridge.  
Maps:1750
Currently:1732. Stunning, though strangely ugly. Two widely separated semi-circular arches of 40 ft. Separated by a pier on a rock island. A humped bridge, but horizontal between the arches. 10ft wide parapet to parapet. 180 ft long. Enormous buttresses in support of each pier and abutment. Cramping rods on arches. Spandrels in uncoursed, poorly dressed random rubble. Voussoirs in whinstone. Iron cramping.  
photo  photo  photo  photo
_______________________________________________

GLEN DOE BRIDGE    
C.Inverness     Allt Doe        240847,808775  

History:1730 military. Wade. Fort Augustus to Inverness road.
Maps:1750
Currently: Five yards to the south of the current bridge and a little below it. Small, eighteenth century , single segmental humpbacked arch in rubble, with minimal parapets and turf decking. Well dressed, sometimes squared but uncoursed rubble spandrels. Well dressed voussoirs. Collapsing: large hole in the decking, looking through to the river. Now harled, and harling has deteriorated. Very dilapidated and overgrown. The current bridge, adjacent, has the substance of a 20th century structure, which is revealed on the soffitt.(photo4) However, facings are from the early 19th century Telford period with preserved plumb and batter buttresses, and it is 22 ft wide. There is a further puzzle here: the small original bridge might not be from the Wade period, but rather from the 1740's. This is suggested by the segmental arch, which is unusual and the width of exactly 12 ft which is characteristic of a Caulfield build, rather than that of Wade.  
photo  photo  photo  photo
_______________________________________________

GLENLUCE PARK BRIDGE   Glenluce  
C.Dum & Gall     Luce Water        219158,557352  

History:12C Cistercian Abbey nearby. After reformation (1590) Castle of Park established. Bridge known to have collapsed in the 1660s (Harrison); several drowned; no bridge for some time. Military Road 1760's(firmly on Roy). Reported as 'very old' in 1838 when widened(Stat.Accts) by attaching on a new wide segmental arch on the west side.  
Maps:Roy(1750)
Currently:Bridge clearly ancient with a range of styles from different centuries. Two arches on the east; one semicircular and one segmental. On the west, one long wide semgmental arch. Ashlar piers and two orders of voussoir- the first is depressed. Ashlar abutments. Parapets appear to be 18th or 19th century. RCAHMS suggest the semicircular arch may be 16th C. which certainly fits with style. The bridge is 17th century perhaps with 16th century remnants. 
Link1  photo  photo photo . 
_______________________________________________

GRANNIFORD BRIDGE                see DEE BRIDGE  


_______________________________________________

GUARD BRIDGE   nr St.Andrews  
C.Fife     R.Eden       345196,718875  

History: First built in 1419.Bishop Wardlaw.Plaque. Repaired by Archbishop Beaton 1530: datestone. Recorded "ruyneous' in 1601, initiating a major rebuild. Wide semicircular arches without ribs suggest present masonry is from this period. However, the very large piers may be from the earlier builds. Further repairs in 1678, 1685, 1786 and new parapets and refuges in 1802. OSA descibes a chain across it to prevent heavy carts.  
Maps:1750 1600( Gordon 54) 1640(Blaeu)
Currently: appears mainly 16th or 17th C. 5 semicircular arches without ribs plus one smaller segmental arch, 12 ft wide. About 40 ft span. Triangular cutwaters and refuges built in to these. 3.7m p to p. Structurally the most unusual feature is the remarkable ratio of very slim 15 inch chamfered voussoirs on a 40 ft semicircular span (photo and see engineering section). The main substance of the bridge is in very weathered ashlar. Unusual absence of a string course though the newer parapets are well defined.  
Link1  Link2  photo  photo  photo  photo  photo  photo
_______________________________________________

HADDINGTON    
           see NUNGATE BRIDGE  


_______________________________________________

HAUGH BRIDGE (of URR )    Castle Douglas
C. Dum & Gall     Urr Water        280542,565978  

History: Part of the 1764 miltary road from Carlisle to Portpatrick. However, present on Roy's map so clearly there was a predecessor at the same location. Little mention of the costs in Taylor's 'Military Roads' so possible it was taken-over, as was Bridge of Dee and Dumfries Bridge. It seems that maintenance was transferred to the Commissioners of Supply from 1790 and from 1805 to the Stewartry Road Trustees. Very recent floods and damage (Dec.2015) requiring repairs.  
Maps:Roy(1750). Described as "Haw" Bridge. 
Currently: This is an 18th C. bridge with 2 segmental arches. Spandrels in rough hammer-dressed random rubble with no coursing. However, the beautifully dressed recessed voussoirs are in ashlar and clearly come from a later date: probably early 19th century. The single pier, cutwater and refuge also may be rebuild. Nearby Spottes Bridge is not on Roy's map as it was not built until the military road.  
photo  photo  photo . 
_______________________________________________

HIGH BRIDGE OF KEN   nr St Johns of Dalry  
C.Dum & Gall     Water of Ken        261962,590194  

History:At the College Linn and Waterfalls. No further information about history or provenance but there is a country dance named after it. Firmly on Blaeu. 
Maps:Roy(1750) Blaeu(1640)
Currently: This is an 18th C bridge. Two almost semicircular arches in hammer-dressed random rubble, occcasionaly brought to course. Rubble voussoirs. Very wide central pier on rocks. Horizontal decking. Parapets are more recent. Solid well dressed coping stones. Narrow: 10ft wide p to p.  
Link1  photo  photo  photo
_______________________________________________

HIGH BRIDGE OF SPEAN    
C.Inverness     R.Spean        220064,782097  

History: completed in 1736, some 6 years after the completion of his road, this is Wade's most impressive military bridge. It is on the Fort William/Inverness Road, and was the location of the first encounter of the '45 rebellion; eleven MacDonalds held the bridge against 85 Hanovarian government troops. The bridge cost £1087 to build.  
Maps:1750
Currently: Quite stunning. Has to be seen to appreciate the enormous proportions. Ruined and overgrown. Only the smaller east arch survives. Previously, 3 large semicircular arches, elevated 80 ft above the river. Appeared to have whinstone voussoirs of great length, though regular, and roughly dressed random rubble spandrels. Centre arch was 40ft. The descending military road can still be found in the undergrowth (photo3). The bridge was bypassed by a Telford Bridge, built upstream in 1818. 
Link1  photo  photo  photo . 
_______________________________________________

HOWFORD BRIDGE    nr Mauchline  
C.Ayr     R.Ayr        251556,625398  

History:Build 1751 by Commissioners of Supply. Cost £137. Repaired in 1773 by James Armour who was later the reluctant father in law of Robert Burns. Clear evidence of widening on the soffit; presumably 19th century. Bypassed (spectacularly) to the east in 1962 (photo 3 is taken from the old bridge). 
Maps:Roy(1750)
Currently:Appears late 18th C. Two segmental arches with cutwater. This classic Comm of Supply structure has typical recessed dressed voussoirs and well dressed coursed rubble spandrels and abutments.It must have been very new at the time of Roy's survey. The old mains pipe below the parapet is in wood (photo).  
photo photo  photo 
_______________________________________________

INGLESMALDIE BRIDGE                see UPPER NORTH WATER BRIDGE  


_______________________________________________

INNER BRIDGE    Leuchars  
C.Fife     R.Mottray       345003,719777  

History: Two charters(St.Andrews Liber) dating from the early 1200s mention a bridge over the 'Modrith'. Repaired 1598. 
Maps:1750(Roy) 1600 (Gordon54) 1640 (Blaeu)
Currently:16th C. bridge with 3 arches: very low and all different: one semicircular and two segmental which is unusual. Iron cramping at the crowns. Very weathered, coursed ashlar spandrels with modest string course and well worked more modern parapets and capstones. Huge central cutwater. 5 m parapet to parapet with no evidence of widening. This is unusually wide. Guard bridge which is nearby on the same route is only 3.6m. Mottray Water is a relatively small river with a wide estuary which may explain the tolerance of a low profile. 
Link  photo . 
_______________________________________________

INVER BRIDGE    Dunkeld Bridge  
C.Perth     R.Braan       301785,742061  

History:1740 a county bridge on a road made before the military took over in 1761 (Coupar to Amulree. Caulfield). This bridge was swept away while still being built and was then rebuilt by Dunkeld masons. However, clearly there was a preceding structure (Roy and Pont's maps).  
Maps:1750 1600. 
Currently: 1740. Two segmental arches plus one flood arch. Roughly coursed random rubble without a string course. Very large buttresses on abutments. Widening is not visible on the soffit. Cutwaters.  
Link1
photo  photo  photo
_______________________________________________

INVERBEG BRIDGE    Loch Lomondside  
C.Dunbarton     Douglas Water       234500,697947  

Maps:1750

Currently:1762 military bridge. Datestone confirms. Perhaps there was a wooden bridge from the time the road was built in 1744? Certainly, it appears on Roy in 1750. Currently: Single segmental arch with well dressed voussoirs (possibly whinstone) and coursed dressed squared rubble spandrels. More recent parapets and coping. It was widened in 1914. A much more substantial structure than the usual Caulfield bridge. 
photo 

_______________________________________________

INVERFARIGAIG BRIDGE    
C. Inverness     R. Farigaig       252169,823882  

History: 1732 military road from Fort Augustus to Inverness. Taylor tells us that Wade brought in Dunkeld masons for the work, which cost £150.  
Maps:1750
Currently:1732. Horizontal decking and dressed random rubble spandrels and abutments. Large buttressing on one spandrel which appears more recent. The voussoirs are also in rubble. The arch is almost semicircular and slightly stilted on rock foundations. This bridge is collapsing and the southwestern decking has fallen away completely. It is very overgrown and quite dangerous. This issue is well documented by the Forrestry Commission, and monitored. No intervention seems likey, however.  
Link1  Link2 photo . 
_______________________________________________

INVERKIP BRIDGE    Bridgend  
C.Renfrewshire     Kip Water        221275,672541  

History:Appears in 1600 
Maps:1750(Roy) Pont (1600)
Currently:19th C depressed very dressed segmental arch but spandrels look older almost as if the arch was a repair. The parapets are slightly pointed but not central to the arch which is odd. This appears to be a very old bridge with a very solid 19th century ashlar arch. Coursed squared rubble abutments.  
photo
_______________________________________________

INVERMAY BRIDGE    near Dunning  
C.Perth     R.May       305681,716236  

History: Old Stirling Perth Road(Roy).  
Currently: 18th C. Single semicircular arch. Very overgrown. Random rubble spandrels and rubble voussoirs. Within the Invermay Estate. 
photo
_______________________________________________

IVY BRIDGE    Cullen Estate  
C.Aberdeen     R. Cullen Burn       350692,866080  

Historyr:Cullen House dates from 1602. This may be the oldest of the Cullen Estate bridges. Appears to be early 18th century.  
Maps:Roy (1750)
Currently: small single span humped segmental arch in well faced random rubble sometimes brought to course. Well dressed rubble voussoirs.  
photo  photo . 
_______________________________________________

JEDBURGH BRIDGE    
C. Roxburgh     Jed Water        365267,620593  

History: The Abbey dates from 1138. The town was invaded three times by English armies in the early 14th century and burnt to the ground. The present bridge is 16th century but it seems certain that there was an earlier one. Two ancient medieval roads approached Jedburgh from the south. Bonnie Prince Charlie's army crossed the bridge in 1745 and billeted in the town. They went on to Carlisle by the Note o'the Gate pass to the SW. Also, the Roman Dere St. approaches from the SE and crosses the Teviot River just 2 miles north of Jedburgh. This road was certainly used in medieval times with a likely deviation through the town and over the bridge.  
Maps:Roy(1750) Oddly not on Blaeu.
Currently:16th C. Three ribbed segmental arches less than 30ft span. Four chamfered ribs (2 missing on east arch). No voussoir rings as such but strong archivolt layer. Clear evidence of ashlar rebuilding on the ribs. Very large piers. Cutwaters extending to refuges. Very well dressed squared coursed stonework on the spandrels. Defensive twist at each end to deter horsemen.  
Link1  Link2  photo  photo photo . 
_______________________________________________

KELTY BRIDGE    
C. Fife     R. Kelty        313927,695304  

History: recorded in 1724 but may be older. This bridge is on the ancient post road from Dunfermline to Perth, located at the join from Inverkiething going north. 
Maps:1750
Currently: Late 17th or early 18th C. Single semicircular arch of well dressed lightly rusticated voussoirs. Coursed squared rubble well dressed, may be ashlar in some parts. Iron cramping. Clear evidence of widening. Parapets in red sandstone are more recent. Very fine coping. A very beautiful little bridge. 
Link1 photo photo2 . 
_______________________________________________

KEN BRIDGE                see HIGH BRIDGE OF KEN  


_______________________________________________

KENLY BRIDGE    Boarhills  
C.Fife     R.Kenly       356962,713532  

History: Nothing known. Maps:1750
Currently:Dated 1793. 
2 small semicircular arches. Widened on the downstream side suggesting an original narrow 9ft bridge. 
Present structure has much from the 18th century suggesting that it was restored and widened in late 18th C. rather than rebuilt. Also note(photo) a different angle on the older upstream side. Interestingly, only the older upstream side has a rasther pretty bull-nosed cutwater. There are also gate piers and a solid string course on the upstream side only.  
photo  photo  photo  photo
_______________________________________________

KILLIN BRIDGE                see DOCHART  


_______________________________________________

KILMARTIN BRIDGE    
C.Argyll     Kilmartin Burn       183267,698035  

Maps:Pont 15 1600
This bridge is only on Pont. Location uncertain. Currently on the approximate spot is a small later 18th C segmental single-arched uncoursed random rubble bridge with splayed parapets, into a T junction. Clearly a replacement of what appeared to be there in 1600. 
photo  photo
_______________________________________________

KILMICHAEL BRIDGE    
C. Argyll     R.Add       185289,692620  

History:1737(not military) Described in the NSA as ' 4 arches-very narrow steep inconvenient and almost dangerous.' One has to wonder if this was the same bridge. This was an important crossing point for black cattle from Islay and Jura. Also droves from Kintyre. There was a Tryst here and a drover's stance(Haldane).  
Maps:1750
Currently:1737
2 seg.arches plus 2 flood arches. Slightly stilted. Partially squared rubble with rough coursing. Plain with no string course. Cutwaters. Remarkably intact and original.  
Link  photo  photo . 
_______________________________________________

KINBUCK    Kinbuck Bridge  
C.Stirling     R.Forth       279124,705388

History: Plaque inside parapet indicates a 1752 date, but this may refer to a repair or restructure. We know the bridge was crossed by 6000 highlanders in advance of the Battle of Sherrifmuir (1715), and that the Jacobites retreated to Kinbuck after the confrontation.
Maps: The bridge is on Roy's map, but it is exactly on a seam which means it is easily missed. Roy's survey, may have been slightly earlier than 1752, so the map may well predate the dating plaque. 
Currently: This is an 18th century bridge, but possibly earlier than 1752, at least in some parts. It is 10/11 ft wide and still taking traffic. Two segmental arches with irregular length voussoirs in well dressed rubble. These are not chamfered. Parapets are from a more recent date. Spandrels in very roughly dressed red sandstone random rubble with extensive metal cramping. Buttressing on the abutments is splayed on both banks from both facades with modern brickwork on the south bank. There is a single pier which is now embedded in concrete and large triangular cutwaters on both sides, which have an interesting stepped upper profile (photo3).  
photo1  photo2  photo3 . 
_______________________________________________

KINNEL BRIDGE    nr Lockerbie  
C.Dum & Gall     Kinnel Water        308972,585015,  

History: This remarkable bridge was built in 1723. The downstream side is entirely intact and standing. Built by John Frew who was contracted in 1717;dated
Widened in 1821; dated. 
Maps:Roy(1750)
Currently:1723
Red sandstone squared, largely random rubble, but well faced and sometimes coursed. Voussoirs are in ashlar which is unusual for the date. 
Two seg.arches and one flood arch. Originally 12 ft.wide. Extended on the upstream side in 1821, by a further 7 ft. Huge cutwaters downstream. Smaller on upstream. Slightly battered abutments. Coping and parapets appear original which is also rare. Band course.  
Link1 photo  photo  photo 
_______________________________________________

LANARK BRIDGE                see CLYDESHOLM BRIDGE  


_______________________________________________

LASSWADE BRIDGE    nr. Dalkeith  
C.Midlothian     R.South Esk       330387,666107  

History:recorded early 18th C. but also on Blaeu. Part of the road south to Melrose and Jedburgh in later 18th C.  
Maps:1750(Roy) Blaeu(1640)
Currently: mostly late 18th, early 19th century. Upstream facade may be older, though a metal foot gangway has been added , supported by an extended 19th century pier. Clear evidence of parallel widening. Coursed squared sandstone rubble with ashlar voussoirs with a flat second order (almost a hood but not recessed) . Two segmental arches, with cutwaters superimposed by elongated buttressing. The cutwaters appear older. Parapets in modern ashlar with solid coping. Interesting approaches in undressed uncoursed random rubble, which also may be older. Tollhouse adjacent. 
Link  photo photo photo photo photo . .
_______________________________________________

LETHAM BRIDGE                see DEN BRIDGE  


_______________________________________________

LOCHAY    Bridge of Lochay  
C.Perth     R. Lochay        256973,734222  

History: Known to be wooden in 1684 when first built; in masonry by 1720, perhaps with a wooden superstructure (iron bolts were ordered). Rebuilt 1741. Maps:1750( Roy).  
Currently: probably from 1741.
Single semicircular arch. Uncoursed random rubble spandrels. 
Link1  Link2  photo
_______________________________________________

LORNTY BRIDGE   Blairgowrie  
C.Perth     Lornty Burn       317124,746483  

History: The oldest of the arches was reputed to be Roman but this has now been completely enveloped in concrete. Second arch is 18th C. military. Caulfield. Coupar to Fort George road.(Just built at time of Roy).  
Maps:1750 1600 (Pont 27)
Currently: Modern structure with both old arches retained and embedded but downstream access is now genuinely impossible without a boat and both arches are hopelessly overgrown and inaccessible.  
Link1 . 
_______________________________________________

LOW BRIDGE    Fintray  
C. Stirlingshire     R. Endrick        263353,686311  

History:1751
Maps:Roy(1750) Blaeu 1640
This bridge must have been in the process of being rebuilt around the time of Roy's map. It was also resuscitated in 1966. 
Currently:18th C.
One very wide segmental arch plus one flood arch. Rough random uncoursed rubble spandrels. Narrow 13ft. Deck on an incline. Datestone 1696 (photo) but even this must refer to a rebuild since the bridge is on Blaeu. Very well dressed voussoirs with recessed barrels.
Link  photo  photo . 
_______________________________________________

LUGGIE BRIDGE   Kirkintilloch  
C. Dunbartonshire     Luggie Water       265472,674160

History: NSA: In 1672, the Earl of Wigton built a bridge of three arches, the old one being ruinous. A toll was imposed. This bridge swept awy by floods in 1715. Present bridge may be from this period, but widened in cast-iron from around 1900.
Maps:Roy(1750)Pont 34(1600) Blaeu(1640) 
Currently: An 18th century humped bridge, although it appears to be later 18th century. It is hiding below early 20th century iron superstructure which is 6ft wide on each side. Three segmental arches with small cutwaters. Appears to have coursed rubble spandrels, ashlar voussoirs and a strong string course.  
photo 
_______________________________________________

BRIDGE OF LUNDIES    nr Kirriemuir 
C.Angus     R.Melgam       330128,752882  

Maps: Pont 28 (1600) Not on Roy
History:Not known 
Currently:2 semicirc arches. dressed rubble voussoirs. Random sometimes squared rubble spandrels sometimes coursed. From several periods. Flat deck suggests a later date. Also must have been widened to take current traffic but this is not obvious on the soffit.  
substantial buttresses dressed rubble. Cramping.  
Overall looks late 18th century
Link1  photo  photo . 
_______________________________________________

LYNESMILL BRIDGE    
C.Peeblesshire    Lyne Burn       321067,639863  

History: An 18th C. bridge. Firmly on Roy but on Roy's map the road crossed 100 m upstream from his bridge, which is clearly shown, a little away from the road.  
Maps:1750(Roy) Blaeu(1640)
Currently: Two span uncoursed random rubble with one seg and one semicirc arch. Coursed, squared rubble on lower parts. Random unfaced rubble above. Dressed, stugged squared rubble voussoirs. Many repairs. Widened by about 5 ft on the upstream side, clearly in the 19thC., because there the voussoirs are in red sanstone ashlar. Curiously, the flood arch has three soffits (parallel widening) whilst the main arch has only two. Smaller cutwaters on the original downstream side.  
Link  photo  photo  photo . 
_______________________________________________

MAIDEN BRIDGE   nr Dalkieth  
C.Midlothian     R.South Esk        333670,666587  

History:16th Century. Reputedly named after Margaret wife of JamesIV. Came north to Scotland 1503 and it was recorded there was a need to 'make by force wayes for her carriage'. It seems she came up the Salter's Road (A6094) to Maiden Bridge. 
Maps:1750(Roy) 1640(Blaeu)
Currently:16th century.
Single semicircular arch with recessed chamfered voussoirs. 3 ribs. 48ft and 12 ft wide. Random uncoursed rubble with squared rubble lower down and some coursing . Strong string course partially lost. Younger parapet above. Dilapidated. Tiny buttresses more like pilasters at each end. Within the abbey college grounds.  
Link1  Link2  Link3  photo 
_______________________________________________

OLD MANOR BRIDGE    Peebles  
C.Peeblesshire     R.Manor       323117,639397  

History: Built from a vacant church stipend. Dated 1702 and of that style but firmly on Blaeu ('Kirk of Mennyrs'), so another structure must have preceded this bridge; possibly wooden. Restoration program 2009. This bridge has to be differentiated from 'Manor Bridge' which is over the Tweed, nearby. 
Maps: Blaeu(1640). Strangely not on Roy.
Currently: Early 18th century. Single narrow segmental humped bridge, 9ft wide.Random uncoursed, unfaced rubble. Cramping. Beautifully preserved. The plaque records that �William Duke of Queensberry designed this work and William Earl of March his second sone built the same Anno 1702�. Link1  photo  photo  photo  photo
_______________________________________________

MEIGLE BRIDGE    Skelmorlie  
C.Ayrshire     Slelmorlie Water       219459,665662

History:Robert Burns escorted Mary Campbell as far as Meigle bridge when he first met her (around 1786). This was "Highland Mary" with whom he had an affair. The Roy road appears to approach from Skelmorlie Castle Road and crosses the burn here 200m upstream of the coast bridge.
Maps:1750(Roy)
Currently:17th C.small single semicircular red sandstone bridge. Dressed random rubble spandrels. Squared and coursed rubble abutments. Rubble voussoirs. Slightly splayed parapets. Datestone looks like 173? but this might refer to clear evidence of widening on the downstream side. Random coursed rubble on the same side. Inglis assures us it is a 'collection' bridge.  
photo  photo  photo

_______________________________________________

MELGARVE WEST BRIDGE                see DRUMMIN  


_______________________________________________

MILL OF STEPPS BRIDGE    near Muthill  
C.Perth     Machany Water       286204,715057  

History:1743 Caulfield Military. Stirling/Crieff road. However it seems there was a predecessor: Macfarlane(1720s) describes "stone pillars laid over with oak trees and covered above with gravel" This suggests there was also a road before the military arrived, which is a surprise as it was thought that the 18th century road was on virgin territory.  
Maps:1750(Roy)
Currently: A classic, wholly original Caulfield 18th C.random uncoursed hammer-faced rubble bridge with large radially aligned dressed rubble voussoirs. No string course and solid coping on the parapets.
1 seg.arch flanked by 2 small flood arches with cutwaters. 12 ft wide p to p. Humped. A lovely little bridge. Worrying amount of modern traffic.  
photo  photo  photo
_______________________________________________

MOUSEMILL BRIDGE    nr Lanark  
C.Lanark     Mouse Water       286943,644204

History: first recorded 1587. '10/- for Wm.Bell to ryd to Hamilton to sie the tymer to Mousbrig.' Was this structural or perhaps centering? 
Charles I charter. 'with sowme of four poundis for upkeep'
Major repairs 1649. 
Nearby 19th C replacement.
Maps:Pont (1600) Blaeu(1640)Roy(1750). Roy less distinct.
Currently: Clearly original. Uncoursed random rubble packhorse bridge without mortar. Flat square ashlar voussoirs. The ring is naked at the crown. Segmental arch. Overgrown but intact. 
Link1  Link2  photo  photo  photo  photo  photo . 
_______________________________________________

MUASDALE BRIDGE    Kintyre  
C.Argyll     Clachaig Water       168014,640231  

History:No reason to think this is not the bridge on Roy. 
Maps:1750.
Currently:18th C. Single segmental arch. Random uncoursed rubble spandrels. 
Link1  Link2  Link3 . 
_______________________________________________

MUCHALLS BRIDGE    nr.Stonehaven  
C.Aberdeen     Muchalls Burn       389444,791089  

Maps:1750
Nothing appears to be known of this bridge.
Currently: small possibly 18th century semicircular arch rubble bridge with very splayed parapets and approaches. Spandrels are squared and coursed. Small arch but wide decking of 28ft. Spandrels look much older at the base suggesting 19th century repair and widening, probably on the downstream side. 
photo
_______________________________________________

   MUSSELBURGH  
C.East Lothian     R.Esk       334075,672537  

History: Reputed to be Roman because of the proximity to Inveresk Roman fort. No evidence for this. In fact, difficult to obtain any reference even to its claimed existence in the 13th and 14th century. Inglis offers evidence for 1530. Certainly standing in 1547. Rebuilt 1548 by Lady Jane Seton. The present structure is remarkably similar to Haddington Nungate which dates from 1548. That said, the spandrels were opened up in 1803 and reputedly, very ancient masonry with oak beams were found inside.(Dendochronology would be good, should this be ever repeated.) Major repairs to the bridge in 1597, by act of parliament, with a third arch added. Charles Edward Stuart led his army over the bridge on his way to and from the battle of Prestonpans (1745). 
Maps:Roy(1750) Blaeu(1640)
Currently:16th C. 3 flat 50ft segmental arches with distortion to two of them. Two orders of voussoirs -the upper one like an archivolted strip. Steps at both ends since 1839. 11ft wide cobbled deck. Sagging squared coursed grey rubble spandrels. Large piers on branders with two-stage cutwaters. Refuge over one pier only at SE end. Built over. Parapets different from spandrels in ashlar blocks with no string course. North arch now dry.  
Link1  Link2  photo  photo  photo  photo . 
_______________________________________________

NEWBATTLE BRIDGE    nr Dalkieth  
C.Midlothian     R.South esk       333146,665710  

History:16th C. possibly earlier. Directly adjacent to Newbattle Abbey founded in 1140 by Cistercian monks. The abbey was secularised in the 17th century to become the seat of the Marquis of Lothian. 
Maps:1750(Roy) 1640(Blaeu)
Currently:15th or16th C
Two very slightly gothic arches. Recessed ashlar voussoirs. Not chamfered. Heavily restored parapet with refuge on each side above cutwaters; oddly one refuge is triangular the other circular. Squared and coursed rubble spandrels. These gothic ashlar arches may be restored but the retained gothic profile is significant. Pont did not cover this area. 
Link1  photo  photo  photo
_______________________________________________

NEWBRIDGE    Dumfries  
C.Dum & Gall     Cluden Water        294886,579092  

History: This interesting bridge was on Blaeu and Pont so has probably been there since the 16th Century. This was on the main road to Glasgow. Listed Buildings notes Messrs Twaddel and Porteous were contracting masons in 1758 which might presume a rebuild. Also known to have been widened on the downstream side in early 20th C.  
Maps: Roy (1750) Blaeu(1640) Pont (1600) 
There is a remarkable similarity to the stone dressings found on the squared rubble spandrels of both this bridge (upstream side) and the Dumfries Dervogilla Bridge. See photo 3. Although the voussoirs are treated differently, both bridges have slight chamfering of the arris. On the downstream widened side the parapets, piers,voussoirs and cutwaters are all in ashlar and the spandrels are in well dressed squared coursed rubble. If there were a rebuild in 1758 the spandrel dressed stones appear to have been retained and once again retained when the bridge was widened. This bridge appears to have elements from the 17th century since we know this part of the Dervorgilla Bridge dates from 1621. 
photo  photo  photo 

_______________________________________________

NEW LUCE BRIDGE    
C.Dum & Gall     Cross Water       217450,564636

History:Not known
Maps:Roy(1750)
Currently:18th C. narrow span broad segmental arch. Random rubble. Humped. Note. Main water bridge is not on Roy. May be late 18th c.  
Photo . 
_______________________________________________

NEWMILLS BRIDGE    Culross  
C.Fife     R.Bluther Burn       301210,686481  

History:17th C. possibly earlier. Recent partial collapse. Seriously at risk(July 2015). This remarkable old structure was part of a mill complex which dates to the early 16th century-worked by the monastery of Culross. Now part of the Valleyfield Estate. Ruined remains of mill workings are adjacent with a datestone of 1776.  
Maps:1750. Not on Blaeu- but only Blaeu map is small scale and fails to show the Bluther Burn. 
Currently:a semi-ruin. Overgrown. No parapets. One almost semicirc. arch and one small flood arch. This bridge is in blocked-in ashlar not rubble as has been recorded. Finely jointed but very weathered.The blocks are now very clear due to partial collapse of a spandrel. Coursing is irregular and this is due to repairs. It has been underpinned by a second repair arch- rather than widened- this taking the form of two arched ribs with sideways infill of brickwork. The original arch is 'broken'- hinging in two places. It may even have been initially slightly pointed. On the downstream side the earlier arch barrel is completely covered. This bridge could be 16th century. 
Link  photo  photo  photo  photo  photo 
_______________________________________________

NEWTON BRIDGE    Sma Glen  
C.Perth     R.Almond       288763,731490  

History:1733 Military. Wade. Crieff/Dalnacardoch road. 
Maps:1750
Currently: 18th C.Single segmental arch. A Wade bridge. However, only on the downstream side. Upstream, the bridge has been widened in the parliamentary period (early 19th c.), and in typical type 3 Telford style with plumb and batter spandrels (photo 4). Also, the voussoirs are much wider on the upstream, with better finishing. Taylor records that the road north was repaired in the early 1800s, at a cost of £17000. The downstream (earlier) side has squared, sometimes coursed rubble spandrels in upper parts. Random uncoursed on lower spandrels. Flat decking. The widening line on the soffit suggests that the original bridge would have been about 13ft wide. Roy's configuration on the map is confusing and may be an error since his bridge is east of the inflowing Newton Burn; there are no remains on this spot. There is a beautiful tiny Wade bridge 300m to the north which is not on Roy's map.(photo5), and gives access to the original 18th C. road going north.  
Link1  photo  photo  photo  photo  photo
_______________________________________________

NEVIS BRIDGE    Fort William  
C. Inverness     R.Nevis       211411,774280  

History: This bridge has been recorded as of 'unknown date', but it exactly matches the location on Roy's map and it also has most of the characteristics of a Wade bridge. This would be the first bridge on the great glen military road of 1730. It may have been upgraded in the 19th century; certainly, the buttressing is unusual. 
Maps:1750
Currently: Horizontal decking. Single large semicircular arch with partly whinstone, partly rubble, slim regular voussoirs. Random and sometimes roughly squared uncoursed rubble spandrels, which are plumb (so not a parliamentary bridge). Finely worked coping#44; which may be more recent, but no string course. Perhaps a little wider than expected,at 13 ft,but not widened. Very difficult to access the river banks, in summer.  
photo  photo
_______________________________________________

NUNGATE BRIDGE   Haddington  
C.East Lothian     R.Tyne       351927,673784  

History:Thirteenth century. Mentioned in the charters of the Yesterwrits(9), dated 1202, along with a record of the road from Berwick. Further mention in 1282. There was a nunnery about one mile beyond the eastern entrance to the town, founded in 1178: hence the Nun Gate. A flood is thought to have washed the bridge away in 1358. Severely damaged at the Siege of Haddington in 1548. Present masonry probably dates from then. It appears that some stones from from a ruined section of St.Mary's were used, showing masons' marks. Criminals were 'restrained' on the bridge and hangings took place from the parapets. A ghost- Lady Charteris, known as 'Kitty' was sometimes seen standing on the decking. There were major repairs in 1659.  
Maps:Roy(1750) Blaeu(1640)
Currently:circa 1550. 
3 beautiful large depressed very flat segmental arches in yellow sandstone well dressed rubble. Protruding archivolted strip. Coursed squared rubble spandrels in red sandstone on older lower parts but random uncoursed yellow rubble on younger upper parts and approaches. Many serial repairs. 12 ft wide decking with steps at one end. A fourth smaller arch at the stepped end over flanking road. 
Beautifully preserved. An ancient ford can also be seen from the bridge (at Ford Road).
Link photo  photo  photo  photo  photo . 
_______________________________________________

OLD PALNURE BRIDGE   nr newton Stewart  
C. Dum &Gall     Palnure Burn        245883,564395  

History: Noted in Macfarlane (1720). Repaired 1731. Rebuilt 1740. Military Road 1760s. Bypassed 1778 (1 mile downstream) Repaired 1993.
Maps:Roy(1750) Not on Blaeu
Currently: single semicircular arch rubble bridge with whinstone like voussoirs. Small stone random uncoursed rubble spandrels and buttressing both upstream and downstream on the west side. Flat simple coping with no string course. This looks like a mid 18th C.bridge: probably 1740.  
Link1  photo  photo
_______________________________________________

PATHSTRUIE BRIDGE    near Dunning 
C.Perth     R.May      307679,711904  

Maps:1750
Currently: later 18th C single segmental arch 
Link1  Link2 . 
_______________________________________________

OLD BRIDGE PEEBLES    
C. Peeblesshire     R.Tweed       325049,640293  

History: Originally wooden. Stone from 1465. OSA notes there was a toll in 1565. Fully rebuilt in 1663, using stone from the ruin of st.Andrew's Church, and further extended in 1799. New Stat.Accts (1834) : "Only 8ft wide but next summer it is hoped to widen it under an act of parliament'. Duly completed by adding 6ft on either side. In 1899, further widened to 40 ft on the downstream side.  
Maps:1750(Roy) 1640(Blaeu). Roy shows a ferry alongside the bridge. This is confirmed on Armstrong. The bridge is on the most important drove road to the south (Haldane). Two roads went south from the bridge in 1750. Today they are represented by The Southern Upland way and the Cross Border Drove Road.  
Currently: Five late 19th century segmental arches with ashlar voussoirs. Spandrels in semi-coursed well dressed rubble. Pilasters and dentillated band course. The cutwaters are triangular on the upstream (ancient) side and rounded on the downstream (19th C.) The arch spans vary a little, around 39ft. However, the real history can be seen on the soffits. Four sections, with a prominent 11 ft wide protrusion (suggests 8ft between the parapets) which dates to 1663 and includes the voussoirs, clearly visible. The protrusion also includes abutments at ground level. The late 18th century extension can also bee seen as a flat parallel widening of about 6ft on both sides. The final 16ft widening dates from the 19th century.  

Link  photo  photo  photo photo . 
_______________________________________________

PEEKIE MILL BRIDGE   nr St.Andrews  
C.Fife     R.Kenly       356042,712636

This small bridge is a hidden treasure. Access is difficult, just upstream of Lower Kenly Farm or from Peekie Mill on the north bank. History: The arms panel (photo) appears contemporaneous. (This is not always the case; sometimes these are 'transplants' to later rebuilds). The arms are of the Hepburn family (photo) who later became Earls of Bothwell. John Hepburn and his nephew Patrick Hepburn were Priors of St.Andrews between 1512 and 1527. John also built St. Leonard's College. There is no other local link with the family. 'Puky Mill' is on Blaeu's Atlas- but no bridge is shown. 
Maps:1750 
Currently: This is a 16th century bridge. H.S.describes a gothic arch but this is not the case; there is some slight sagging near the crown on the downstream arch (photo) which might give that impression. It is a semicircular arch without any ribbing on the intrados. Spandrels are in very weathered squared coursed well dressed rubble with many repairs and not much mortar remaining. Voussoirs are chamfered and long on the soffit, which is unusual (photo). The old ruin of Peakie Mill is adjacent (photo). At one time there were twenty operational mills on the Kenly Water. 
Link1  Link2  photo photo photo photo photo photo photo . 
_______________________________________________

PENCAITLAND BRIDGE    
C. Lothian     R. Tyne        344218,669006  

History: Village has a 12th century history. Church on very ancient foundations. A bridge datestone of 1510, with Sinclair arms; almost certainly, the Sinclairs of Herdmanston. Herdmanston tower is 3Km downstream, given to the Sinclairs by charter in 1401. The 1510 date on the bridge could refer to a repair. May be older.  
Currently: Many repairs to red sandstone coursed squared rubble spandrels. Parapets more recent and light string course. Two gothic drop centred arches and one semicircular. The flanking arches are for floodwaters. Central arch has very heavy ribbing. Metal cramping to arch and spandrels. Unusual castellated coping to parapets. The small gothic flood arch is also ribbed and has been underpinned by a semicircular arch. Still open to traffic. 23 ft. parapet to parapet; this, with very small arches and heavy ribbing, almost has the feel of a culvert. Certainly widened but difficult to confirm because of the ribbing. 
Maps: Roy(1750) Blaeu (1640)
Link  photo photo photo photo photo
_______________________________________________

PHILORTH BRIDGE    nr. Fraserburgh  
C. Aberdeen     Philorth Burn       401880,864401  

History: Located accurately by Macfarlane(c.1720): built of wood. Replaced in stone in 1723. Located at the north end of Castle Cairnbuilg Estate (13th century). There was a Philorth Bridge railway halt on the St Combs line and a Philorth Bridge airfield in the 1940s. The Laird at Cairnbuilg informed me that the burn was originally 'The Orth' and that the 'Phil' was a pool some distance upstream, where Vikings were reputed to have berthed their long boats. 
Maps:1750 (Roy) 1640 (Blaeu)
Currently:an 18th century bridge with a great many repairs. One semicircular arch and one larger segmental. Voussoirs are small but the facing voussoirs on both sides have been renewed. Spandrels are rendered on the N. face which is unusual. The south face has squared coursed rubble spandrels and very well dressed voussoirs. Many repair areas. Simple solid coping is intact. No string course. It has been widened (photo) on the upstream side which looks more 19th century. On the downstream side the facing voussoirs are renewed but under the harling. I suspect the original early 18th century stonework will be underneath. Overgrown and with grass decking. Slightly humped. Now bypassed by a modern bridge immediately adjacent. 
Link1  photo photo photo 
_______________________________________________

POLDULLIE BRIDGE   Strathdon  
C.Aberdeen     R.Don       334857,812510  

History:Poorly defined on Roy. Datestone shows 'John Forbes 1715.' Roy's approach roads no longer exist. Macfarlane (c.1720) notes 'there is a new bridge at Pot of Pool d'Oylie'. Poldullie was one of a few bridges that survived the 1829 flooding.The water was high up the spandrels. 
Currently:Beautiful single semicircular arch to rock springers. Famed for perfect reflection in the water. Spandrels are random uncoursed rubble. Rough coursing and squaring on the approaches. Voussoirs in dressed rubble. Concrete buttress at N. abutment. 
Link1 photo  photo  photo 
_______________________________________________

POLHARROW BRIDGE    St Johns of Dalry
C.Dum & Gall     Polharrow Burn        260326,584358  

History:Chalmer's Caledonia(1824) reports it was built by by Quentin McLurg- a tailor- from his own earnings -in 1706. Roy's road down through the Ken Valley. Major repairs and widening in 1841 (date stone). See photo 3. Now bypassed downstream 50 yards. 
Maps:Roy(1750)
Currently: Two segmental arches with cutwaters and a smaller flood arch on the west. Squared uncoursed rubble spandrels and abutments, sometimes brought to course. Rubble voussoirs. A strong string course with parapets which appear original. Solid heavy coping stones. Decking overgrown. 21ft p to p. Original appears about 13ft. See photo. The date stone clearly refers to the repairs and widening. This is a lovely old 18th century bridge which has been well preserved though 19th century work.  
Link1  Link2  photo  photo  photo . . 
_______________________________________________

PRIORY BRIDGE   Blantyre  
C.Lanarkshire     Rotton Calder Water        267830,658414  

History:Called "Prox Bridge" on Roy. The 13th C. priory was about one mile away on the Clyde. This would be entirely rural and nearby. Ruins of an old mill are on the bank. See photo. The bridge is on the Hamilton to Glasgow Road and was still in use in 1939. Trams crossed it in 1910 after the final widening.  
Maps:1750(Roy)1600(Pont 34 ) 1640(Blaeu)
Currently:single span semicircular. But very unusual in that it has evidence of 2 distinct widenings: one in 1809 and one more in 1907. The original semicircular shape (10ft wide) is retained. It is possible that the original arch and remains are from the 16th century since it is firmly on Pont's map. More probably from the 17th century. The early 19th C. spandrels are squared and roughly coursed well faced rubble. The 20th century material is in red brick. The bridge is now closed and overgrown. It is very dilapidated and difficult to access. 
Link  photo  photo  photo  photo
_______________________________________________

PROSEN BRIDGE   nr Kirriemuir Bridge  
C.Angus     R.Prosen       339508,758616  

339508,758616, 
Prosen Bridge    nr Kirriemuir 
C.Angus.    R.Prosen

Nothing known of history. 
Maps: Pont29(1600) Not on Roy
Currently:almost semicircular arch with wide red sandstone voussoirs and soffits but grey uncoursed random rubble spandrels and abutments Enormous buttresses to the abutments. Slightly pointed parapets with slight hump to crown. Very unusual widening on the downstream side with a larger arch and a 15" step on the soffit. The older upstream side has many repairs from different eras. This is an 18th C bridge but may have material and sections from an earlier period.  
Link  photo  photo  photo  photo
_______________________________________________

RICARTON BRIDGE   Kilmarnock  
C. Ayrshire     R. Irvine        242788,636564  

History:1723 Date stone. Comm. of Supply. Bridge preceded by stepping stones to the east. Bypassed by a new bridge in 1839
Maps:Roy(1750)
Currently:Three dressed stone segmental arches with cutwaters. Ashlar spandrels with a decorative tooled bandcourse. Very well built and eloborate for the period. 
Link1  photo . 
_______________________________________________

ROMAN BRIDGE   Bothwellhaugh  
C. Lanarkshire     R. South calder        272886,657973  

History:lies close to Watling Street as it approaches Bothwell from the south. Roy locates the Roman crossing a little upstream of the bridge but includes both the bridge and the Roman crossing. The bridge is noted in the Old Stat.Accts.1790s. Late 19th c. paintings suggest there was loss of masonry from spandrels and parapets before the present low level coping was added, in the later 19th century, so it was probably not a packhorse bridge ( certainly not according to Hinchcliffe who requires 6 feet width). It appears to be older than 18th century but its absence from Pont and Blaeu is important.  
Maps:Roy(1750) Not on Blaeu. Not on Pont. 
Currently: 9ft wide humped single semicircular arch with remarkably small voussoirs. Squared but uncoursed rubble spandrels.  
Link  photo  photo  photo  photo . 
_______________________________________________

ROMAN BRIDGE    Inverary  
C.Argyll    Douglas Water        205910,704805  

History: Not Roman. Not military. Roy shows a non-military road from Inverary to Lochgilphead. 
Maps:1750

Currently:18th C. 
Single segmental arch. Narrow.

_______________________________________________

ROMAN BRIDGE   Inverkip  
C. Renfrewshire     Dunrod Burn       222307,672549  

History:Late medieval packhorse bridge. 16th C and confirmed on Pont and Blaeu which is important. Mentioned in OSA. Bypassed by adjacent by an early 19th C. red sandstone semicircular arched bridge (last photo).  
Maps:Roy(1750)Pont 33(1600) Blaeu(1640)
Currently:single packhorse arch 6 ft wide with small 1 ft high parapets. Squared and random rubble. Slight gothic shape which might suggest earlier date; more likely slightly broken. Part of someone's garden who refuses access. 
Link1  Link2 photo photo  photo  photo  photo . 
_______________________________________________

   ROMAN BRIDGE Penicuik           see CENTURIANS BRIDGE  


_______________________________________________

ROUTIN BRIDGE    nr Dumfries  
C. Dum & Gall     Old Water        288623,579720  

History:Nothing of history or provenance is known of this little bridge which is a favourite local beauty spot. It is present on both Blaeu and Pont which suggests a 16th century existence
Currently:Largely 18th century (downstream) and 19thcentury (upstream) stonework. Squared well dressed coursed rubble spandrels. recent parapets. Segmental arch single span. Well dressed voussoirs in rubble. Appears to have been extensively repaired in the late 19th. C.
Maps: Pont(35) 1600 Blaeu(1640) Not on Roy 
Link1  photo  photo  photo 

_______________________________________________

RUBHA BAN BRIDGE    Loch Lomondside  
C.Dunbarton     Small unnamed burn       233201,701869  

History:1745 Military. Caulfied. Dunbarton to Inverary. 
Maps:1750
Currently:1745.
single arch culvert. 
photo
_______________________________________________

BRIDGE OF RUIM    near Alyth  
C.Angus    Queich Burn       326954,749300  

History: Also called Brig o'Rome. Noted as 1713 in Meikle Parish Church archive but the bridge features on Pont and appears to be original.  
Maps: 1600(Pont 26) not on Roy
Currently:Original humpback packhorse. 
Segmental arch in remarkable condition with a small flood arch. Undressed random rubble without any mortar. Voussoirs in red sandstone rubble. Based on rock in an angle of the burn protected by an ancient revetment. No parapets and grass decking but still crossable. Access very difficult and quite hard to find.  
Link  photo  photo  photo  photo  photo
_______________________________________________

RUITHRIESTON BRIDGE    Aberdeen  
C. Aberdeen     Ruthrieston Burn       392952,803879  

History: First mentioned in 1541. The Brig of Dee had been damaged by floods and burgh records described the need for a nearby bridge to be made safe. This 'bryg of tre'(wooden bridge )is not on Blaeu or Pont despite both showing 'Rudrieston' settlement. Built in stone in 1693 (plaques with Latin inscription of its provenance- the Bridge of Dee Fund.)  
Maps:1750(Roy) Very faint.  
Currently: The old bridge was taken down and reconstructed 30m to the east in 1923. It is described as a packhorse bridge although it scarcely meets Hinchcliffe's criteria. Gently humped with three semicircular arches in coursed well dressed granite rubble with granite voussoirs. Cutwaters. Splayed walls. Cobbled decking. Stepped parapets which are more recent. Much more elaborate and better built than most packhorse bridges.  
Link . 
_______________________________________________

RUMBLING BRIDGE (Devon)    Muchart 
C.Perth     R.Devon       301659,699474  

History:1713 Local build . Then included in first turnpike from Stirling to Dollar and Dunfermline (1810). OSA Muchart suggests 1723. However, in 1722 Macfarlane describes the bridge and the rapid waters ' very terrible to all spectators'. 
Maps:1750
Currently:Two bridges, one superimposed. Older is from 1713; 11 ft wide single semicirc.arch; spandrels in block-in coursed dressed ashlar and a horizontal deck. 85 feet above the water. 
Second bridge, above is 1816; this is a beautiful decorative squared block-in coursed rubble bridge with a semicircular arch of elaborate tooled voussoirs. 120 ft above the gorge 5.7 m wide. 
Link1  photo  photo
_______________________________________________

SEAN SPITTAL BRIDGE    Glenshee  
C.Perth     R.Clunie       314883,780008  

History:1749 military. Caulfield. Coupar to Fort George road
Maps:1750
Currently: Original bridge, 500m upstream of the present bridge on the remnants of the military road. Identified by Taylor.
Currently:Very small simple segmental arch with squared rubble masonry with very little mortar. No parapets.  
photo  photo  photo
_______________________________________________

SHENNANTON BRIDGE    Kirkcowan
C. Dum & Gall     R. Bladnoch       234359,563234

History:Just NE of Kirkcowan there are three versions of Shennanton bridge due to serial bypasses. The earliest definitely preceded the 1760 military road and is present on Roy. Construction was not included in the 1763 reports. There is no bridge on on Blaeu despite the presence of "Schinen Town" The second bridge is 50 m downstream: a mid 19th C structure with 2 segmental arches. A third modern bridge is 200m yet further downstream. 
Currently: The eastern arch of the old bridge collapsed in 2005 through neglect. The western arch remains very overgrown and without parapets. There is also a small flood arch on the west bank. Slim voussoirs seem intact and large-stone squared coursed rubble spandrels are very weathered and collapsing. .  
Maps:Roy(1750) but not on Blaeu although the place name is there and Lincuan bridge is shown nearby at Kirkcowan.  Link1  photo  photo  photo . 
_______________________________________________

SHIELS BRIDGE    Ladybank  
C.Fife     R.Eden       328375,708568  

Maps:1750 1600 1640
Currently:18th C random rubble but well faced, and very well dressed rubble voussoirs with repairs in brick. 2 segmental arches(one flood). Looks early 19th rebuild and widening. 
photo1  photo2
_______________________________________________

SHIRRABEG BRIDGE    Corrieyairack Pass  
C.Inverness     Dry stream bedding       255647,793057  

History: The military road built by Wade in 1730. Dalwhinnie to Fort Augustus. The road was repaired by Caulfied 1760 who spent 𧸖 on bridges. This might be a Caulfield bridge.  
Maps: 1750. 
Currently: Single segmental random well-dressed rubble haunched arch with rubble voussoirs. 12 ft wide p to p 
photo . 
_______________________________________________

SKIPPER BRIDGE    Langholm  
C.Dum&Gall     R.Esk       337077,583392  

History:This remarkable old bridge still carries the A7 to the south. Built in 1693; originally about 13ft wide. Macfarlane(1720s) records 'a noble bridge of 3 arches..very large about 44ft built about 26years ago'. Widened on the north face to 20ft in 1806 (not by Thomas Telford although he was Langholm's most famous son.) Further restructured in 1926.  
Maps:1750(Roy) 
Currently:South facing remains 17th/18thC. Two very tall stilted 44ft segmental spans and a further semicircular flood arch. Masonry vary variable. On the south face the spandrels are in un-faced random rubble mixed with squared and stugged stonework and gallets. It looks tired and hardwork to maintain. The voussoirs are rubble and irregular. There is a beautiful stepped corbelling decorative string course. The parapets are from 1806 on both sides and are in uncoursed but faced random rubble. The widening can be seen on the north side. (photo) Tall triangular cutwaters. No refuges. Recessed 19th C. ashlar voussoirs on the north face and no corbelled string.  
Link1  Link2  photo  photo  photo . 
_______________________________________________

SLUGGAN BRIDGE   nr Carrbridge  
C. Inverness     R.Dalnain       286989,822008  

History: This spectacular structure is not the original. Wade's military bridge of 1730 was a two arched structure on the Dunkeld to Inverness road. It had clearly collapsed at an early stage as the present single arched bridge has many Caulfield characteristics, suggesting a 1740s build. Roy's map shows a very light depiction. Perhaps it was 'down' at the time. The road north was realigned by Telford in 1809, and the bridge was bypassed. Then, in the 1829 floods, it was swept away. So impressive had it been, that the early victorians carefully restored it to its former glory, despite the absence of utility.  
Currently: Enormous humped,single 65 ft segmental arch with whinstone voussoirs of irregular length. The 45 ft rise of the arch is only a little short of the crown. Parapets almost absent. Spandrels in scarcely dressed random rubble. Peculiar stepped joins of the spandrels on either side of the arch may suggest that the original ramps were preserved from the two-arched Wade bridge. It is probable that these would have also survived the 1829 disaster. 
photo  photo  photo
_______________________________________________

SNUFF MILL BRIDGE                see CATHCART  


_______________________________________________

OLD BRIDGE OF SORN    nr Mauchline
C. Ayr     R. Ayr        254970,626730  

History:Built by Rev Steel.1736-1751 because one of his parishioners drowned at the ford on way to a service. Church is adjacent. Not to be confused with New Brig of Sorn 1871 about 1km upstream  
Maps:Roy(1750)
Currently: A beautiful original 18th C. two semicircular arched bridge in grey sandstone with cutwaters. Dressed stone recessed arches and uncoursed squared rubble spandrels. Splayed approaches. 9ft wide.p to p. 
Link  photo  photo . 
_______________________________________________

SPEAN BRIDGE                see HIGH BRIDGE OF SPEAN  


_______________________________________________

OLD SPEY BRIDGE   Granton on Spey  
C.Inverness     R.Spey       303977,826333  

History: Roy's survey was a year before this bridge was built but there seems to be some sort of crossing (perhaps a ford or ferry)on his map. Caulfield's road from Coupar to Fort George was completed to this point in 1754. This military bridge was part of it. The smallest arch fell in the 1829 floods. Bypassed in the 1930s by a concrete bridge upstream. 
Maps:1750
Currently: Three span lop sided bridge with the largest segmental arch (80ft) at one end. Very high spandrels in squared coursed rubble with iron cramping rails. Cutwaters rising (a long way) to refuges. Parapets in random rubble. Voussoirs are wide and in rubble and whinstone. Datestone attributes the build to Col Charles Hay of the 33rd.
Link1  photo  photo . 
_______________________________________________

SPITTAL OF GLENSHEE BRIDGE    Glenshee  
C.Perth     R.Shee       310903,770108  

Maps:1750
History:1749 military. Caulfield. Coupar to Fort George road which took 6 years to build. This was an early part.  
Currently: Classic Caulfield single hump backed sometimes squared mainly random rubble bridge Single segmental arch with radially aligned voussoirs in whinstone.
photo 
_______________________________________________

STEPENDS BRIDGE   Kilmacolm  
C. Renfrewshire     Green Water         

History:as Drayhill Bridge on Roy. Mentioned Crawford and Semple 1775.  
Maps:1750(Roy)
Currently:This is an 18th century bridge. Probable later 18th. Wide single segmental arch in well dressed rubble with semisquared dressed rubble spandrels. No string course. 
Photo . 
_______________________________________________

STIRLING    Old Bridge of Stirling.
C.Stirling     R.Forth        279705,694563 

History:13th century. 
Maps:1750(Roy) 1640(Blaeu) 1600(Pont)
Currently: probably late 16th century.
LINK to FULL SUMMARY 
_______________________________________________

STOW BRIDGE   Lauder  
C. Midlothian     Gala Water        345837,644394  

History:1654.Recorded as a packhorse bridge, perhaps because of the low parapets. However, Hinchcliffe might disagree, particularly because of the width. In fact it may be a rather late 'collection' bridge, as it was built by the kirk session of adjacent St. Mary's Church, which itself dates from the 15th century, and has a long history of serial building, dating back to the 13th century. The bridge may have been used subsequently, by pack trains, as it lies on the ancient road north from Gala to Edinburgh. 
Maps:1750(Roy). Not on Blaeu. Roy's map shows three separate roads at Stow, going North to South. The bridge was on an interconnection route. 
Currently: Ruinous, three segmental arched, humped, undressed random rubble bridge, which is part of a causeway. Ten feet wide, parapet to parapet (packhorse bridges are expected to be 6ft wide or less). It has beautiful wide arches with rubble voussoirs. The main span is 47ft. There is buttressing on the north facade and small triangular cutwaters, both upstream and downstream. The approaches on the lesser arches have collapsed away on the north aspect. There are odd squinch-like features at the outer ends of the spandrels (photo). Parapets are very low, but this may not be an original feature. A modern lime concrete structure now supports the primary flood arch, which is unfortunate.  
Link1  photo  photo  photo  photo
_______________________________________________

STUCHENVULLIG BRIDGE    Loch Lomondside  
C.Dunbarton    Small unnamed burn       232653,702839  

History:1745 Military. Caulfield. Dunbarton to Inverary. 
Maps:1750
Currently:small semicircular random uncoursed rubble bridge on old road a little to the east on the shore.
photo
_______________________________________________

TAY BRIDGE   Aberfeldy  
C.Perth     R.Tay       285127,749299  

History:1733-35. Military. Wade. Crieff/Dalnacardoch Rd. This was Wade's masterpiece. It was designed by William Adam, whom Wade described as the best architect in Scotland. Wade regarded the bridge as a prestige symbol and a lasting memorial. He was right! It looks as as if it belongs to an expensive country estate. It was completed in a single year, and cost £4000. The foundations are on oak starlings with iron shod piles into the riverbed.  
Maps:1750
Currently:1733. Five segmental arches; centre 62ft; then 2 sets of pairs. Very large ashlar voussoirs. Squared coursed rubble spandrels in chorite schist stone. Four obelisks. Unusual stepped parapets down to lesser arches. Two inscriptions,one in English, which is very matter-of-fact, and one in Latin, which is very flowery in style. This is the most elaborate of the eighteenth century military bridges and quite atypical.  
Link1 photo  photo  photo  photo . 
_______________________________________________

TEITH BRIDGE    Doune
C.Stirling     R.Teith        272176,701232  

History:1535 Inscription: built by Robert Spittal, tailor to Queen Margaret Tudor. Spittal is also reputed to have built Tullibody Bridge and Bannockburn Bridge. Part of Caulfield's military road of 1752. 1812 turnpike from Stirling. Widened 19th C. Datestone 1866. OSA contains long description of provenance.  
Maps:1750.
Currently mainly later masonry. 2 semicircular arches with widening. Squared uncoursed random rubble spandrels. No chamfering on arches nor ribs. Marked string course with younger parapets.Beautiful bridge but not much retained from 16th C. except the arch shape and the cutwaters. Still rather narrow for 2 way traffic.
Link1Link2  Link3  photo
_______________________________________________

OLD TONGLAND BRIDGE   Kirkcudbright  
C. Dum & Gall     R. Dee       269705,553651

History:Possible link to Tongland Abbey Church. NSA Kirkcudbright reports that Mary Queen of Scots crossed a wooden bridge at Tongland in her flight from Langside; pulled down the bridge to prevent pursuit. Present old bridge built in 1737. It was incorporated into the Carlisle/Portpatrick military road system in 1772, thus altering the original line (1764) which crossed at Bridge of Dee. Bypassed in 1805 by Thomas Telford's New Tongland Bridge 500m downstream 
Maps:Roy(1750)
Currently: A greatly altered 18th century bridge. Two very high segmental arches with three paired very high cutwater/ buttresses. Squared rubble brought to course and rubble voussoirs. 10ft wide original width. Now has cantilevered widening of the decking on both sides. 
Link  photo photo . 
_______________________________________________

TOWER BRIDGE    Dunfermline  
C.Fife     Tower Burn       308726,687279  

>History:Adjacent to Malcom Canmore's tower and close to the medieval abbey. Probably the bridge referred to as 'Gyrth-Bow' in the time of David I (14th C. Reg. of Dunfermline Charter 433) connecting the two communities of Dunfermline. OSA refers to 'Malcolm's Bridge' the highest part having recently been built by a Mr.Chalmers-"a work of great labour and expense."
Maps:Roy(1750) Blaeu (1640) depicts a very compact but split Dunfermline (see map below) 
Currently: The existing semicircular double arched (one above the other) bridge has a lower portion from 1611 and an upper part from 1780. The earlier portion was a 'Collection' period bridge 9 ft wide: later underpinned by two large ribs which appear as the lowest of three arches. At the same time the low bridge was widened to 17ft. Reinforcement is very similar to Newmills nearby. So in total there are three arches. The upper 18th century portion has copied the rusticated voussoirs from the earlier period. Coursed squared sandstone spandrels, especially well finished in the lowest arch:possibly weathered ashlar. Balustrades. Well engineered buttressing. No medieval remains here, however. 
Link  Link2  early-sketch  
map  photo  photo  photo  photo
_______________________________________________

TRINAFOUR BRIDGE    nr. Blair Atholl  
C.Perth     Erochty Water       272504,764711  

History:Military bridge. Wade: Crieff to Dalnacardoch road. 1730. The approaching military road can be seen (photo4)
Maps:1750
Currently:18th C , though widenened on the upstream side from about 9ft to 21 ft. This widening was from the parliamentary period (around 1810) and the characteristic plumb and batter buttressing can be seen. The arch is almost semicircular. Parapets are sloping. The voussoirs appear to be whinstone. There is more recent iron cramping. Uncoursed partially dressed rubble and some random rubble.  

Link1  photo1  photo2  photo3  photo4
_______________________________________________

TULLIBODY BRIDGE    
C.Clackmannan     R.Devon       284652,695135  

History: Reputedly built by Robert Spittal in 1520, who also sponsored Bannockburn and Doune bridges. In 1560 Scots collapsed the west arch to delay the retreat of the French (Mary of Guise troops), going from Leith to Stirling. The breach was repaired by the French, from the roof of the Auld Kirk. Further major repairs in 1596 (a Stirling Charter) and in 1616. Parliament granted a levy in 1675 for extensive work, done in 1697.
Maps:1750
Currently: Two small ribbed stilted gothic arches of 18ft.span. Four ribs each. One arch has two orders of chamfered voussoir, which almost gives the impression of archivolting. Long approaches are well designed with 3 small semicircular flood arches. These are of a later date: perhaps 1697. Coursed squared rubble spandrels and in some parts possibly weathered ashlar. The western arch is the younger, damaged one. Fortified twist to deter charging horsemen. The central portion which crosses the river is the oldest section. The spans are 18ft which seems unnecessarily small for a 1520 date; a single, larger (45ft) arch without a pier might be expected. These small gothic spans suggest a 15th century date. Worth noting that the link to Robert Spittal is by tradition only. However, there is no mention of the bridge in the charters of Cambuskenneth Abbey.
Link1  photo  photo  photo  photo  photo . 
_______________________________________________

TUMMEL BRIDGE    
C. Perth     R.Tummel       276249,759189  

History: 1733 Military. Wade. Crieff to Dalnacardoch road. Contracted out to John Stewart of Canagan. Known earlier as Canagan Bridge. The Kynachan estate is now a Forrestry park. Mr Stewart was paid £200 but contracted to maintain the bridge for 20 years, at his own expense. The contract still exists. 
Maps:1750
Currently:1733
1 Seg. arch, 55ft + 1 flood arch, 11 ft wide. Enormous single buttress on upstream side. Very markedly humped. Random uncoursed, but well faced rubble on upper parts. Lower spandrels have some rough coursed and squared rubble. Voussoirs in rubble. Appears to be semi-harled. Cramping. The brass plate with 1730 date is a little early. A Kingshouse from the same period is adjacent. 
This is not a typical Wade bridge - perhaps reflects a subcontractor.Only a few of his bridges were actually built by the army. This one is more humped and better built than usual.
Link1  Link2  photo1  photo2
_______________________________________________

UPPER NORTH WATER BRIDGE    Inglesmaldie  
C.Forfar     North Esk       365273,766135  

History: Written date 1539 (Inglis). Widened in 1800 and major repair/restructuring in 1841. Toll imposed for upkeep in 1669.
OSA Logie-Pert (1790)Rev.Peter records that the bridge was built '200 years ago' by a John Erskine of Dun in response to a dream which threatened a miserable after-death. He took three attempts to build it. (Worth noting here that a few km away is Markkirk-probable location of two bridges identified in Arbroath Charters from early 13th C.)  
Maps:1750 Pont 30(1600)
Currently:16th C.
Three 50ft almost semicircular five-ribbed arches. Coursed well dressed squared rubble spandrels; in some parts possibly very weathered ashlar. Decaying heraldic plaque on downstream side. Although the masonry is very weathered, the ashlar voussoirs are of very high quality fro a bridge of this period.  
Link1  photo  photo  photo  photo . 
_______________________________________________

OLD BRIDGE OF URR   Castle Douglas  
C. Dum & Gall     Urr Water        277603,567723  

History:This old bridge has a date stone on the S. facing which is now indecipherable but creditably gives a 1580 date. The bridge appears on Pont (1640) which appears to be confirmation. Another date panel on the S parapet reads 1815. It is known to have been repaired in 1728 and widened in 1772 . It was a mill bridge and the mill is adjacent.  
Maps:Roy(1750) Blaeu(1640)
Currently: Apart from the panels on the S. facing it is difficult to see anything from the 16th century. Two semicircular rubble arches without ribbing. Spandrels in well dressed , very roughly squared rubble which is brought to course. This all fits with an 18th century date. The parapets are probably from the 1815 date. The widening can be seen. Now 13ft wide p to p.  
After some thought given a maroon marker rather than a red one. It was common practice to transplant panels through repairs and rebuild.  
Link1  Link2  photo photo  photo . 
_______________________________________________

WEST BRIDGE Cullen                see CULLEN HOUSE  


_______________________________________________

WHITE BRIDGE (Cawdor)               see CLEPHANTON  


_______________________________________________

WHITE BRIDGE    Foyers  
C.Inverness     R.Foyers       248917,815370  

History:1732 Wade military bridge. Ft.William Inverness Road. Roy describes this a 'Six Mile Bridge' Cost £150 to build. Seriously damaged in floods of 1829..."in a very singular manner-the outside walls and parapets were left entire while the roadway arch all within totally disappeared" (Dick Laird). 
Maps:1750 but also probable location of a Pont bridge (1600). Difficult to locate on Pont.
Currently:1830 complete rebuild in 18th c. style in random uncoursed rubble, except the arch is in ashlar. Worn datestone preserved. Marked string. Single semicircular 40ft arch with sandstone decorative voussoirs. 9ft wide. Adjacent bypass bridge is 1932, though the 18th century facings have been preserved. 
photo  photo  photo . 
_______________________________________________

YESTER BRIDGE   Gifford  
C.Lothian     Gifford water        354141,667344  

History: This is probably the location of the Bowbriggis of Bothanis identified in charter No.1051 (dated 1580) in the Yesterwrits. Bothans (Yester) was a very ancient settlement. The present bridge dates from 1744 - a William Adam classic - similar in ways to the Aberfeldy Bridge which he designed for General Wade. 
Maps:Roy(1750), but unusual depiction. Not on Blaeu.  
Currently: A beautiful estate bridge (Yester House was also built by Adam). Single span raised semicircular arch with a horizontal decking. Strong string course and arch hood archivolt. Obelisks at the quadrants. Squared well dressed rubble spandrels brought to course. Rubble voussoirs.
photo . 

Bridge List


Dec. 2012                                      Site last updated  November 2017